Super Cup Final: Bengaluru FC thrash East Bengal 4-1, Sunil Chhetri scores brace

Last Updated:

New Delhi:

Indian Super League finalist Bengaluru FC on Friday, defeated I-League side East Bengal FC 4-1 to win the Super Cup.

The Super Cup which is a replacement of Federations Cup in India saw the final fixture played at the Kalinga Stadium in Odisha. The two rivals showed some beautiful football in the first half, but it was followed by a one-sided second half where Bengaluru FC dominated the 10-man East Bengal.

Congratulations to @bengalurufc - the first champions of the #HeroSuperCup 🏆#EBvBFC

— Indian Super League (@IndSuperLeague) April 20, 2018

Kromah handed East Bengal the lead in the 29th minute of the first half, but the R. Bheke equalised within 10 minutes after trailing.

East Bengal ended the first half with 10 men on the pitch after S. Mallik saw the red card for a foul.

The second half witnessed a dominant display by Bengaluru FC as they run riot by scoring 3 goals. Sunil Chhetri scored a brace and N. Fedor netted once.

Bengaluru, we're bringing another cup home! #Champion5

— Bengaluru FC (@bengalurufc) April 20, 2018

First Published: