AIADMK crisis over: Edappadi Palanisamy sworn-in as 21st CM of Tamil Nadu; 30 ministers also take oath

16 Feb , 2017 , 08:29 PM
E Palanisamy (Image: PTI)
E Palanisamy (Image: PTI)

Edappadi K Palanisamy took oath as next Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu on Thursday. Along with Palanisamy, 30 other ministers have taken oath. The swearing-in happened a day after AIADMK chief V K Sasikala was sent to jail. The Supreme Court restored her conviction in the disproportionate assets case.

After a long wait, Governor C Vidyasagar Rao on Thursday invited AIADMK legislator party leader and Sasikala's proxy Edappadi K Palanisamy to form the government in Tamil Nadu.

With the swearing-in of Chief Minister in Tamil Nadu, there was an end to the long-drawn battle to throne vacated after former CM J Jayalithaa's demise.

Meanwhile, outgoing CM O Panneerselvam has said that he will continue the 'fight' untill the Amma's rule is not established. The Opposition party DMK has raised doubts on the fact that CM-designate Palanisamy has been given 15 days for floor test by the Governor.

Here are the updates:


O Panneerselvam paid tribute at Jayalalithaa's memorial at Marina Beach


TN Assembly to convene on 18th February 2017: AIADMK


Congratulate new govt; hope it'll not function under control of VK Sasikala who's in Bengaluru jail; CM should remember his oaths: MK Stalin, DMK


AIADMK MLAs head back to Kuvathur's Golden Bay resort after Tamil Nadu cabinet and CM E Palanisamy's oath ceremony


TN CM E Palanisamy and VK Sasikala's nephew TTV Dhinakaran pay tribute at Jayalalithaa's memorial at Marina Beach


Clash between newly appointed minister CV Shanmugam and O Panneerselvam supporters


Governor C.Vidyasagar Rao with the newly sworn-in Tamil Nadu Cabinet


Chennai: Tamil Nadu Cabinet being sworn in


Tamil Nadu Cabinet being sworn in


E Palanisamy takes oath as next Tamil Nadu CM


Tamil Nadu cabinet and CM-designate E. Palanisamy's oath ceremony to begin at Raj Bhavan, shortly


AIADMK leaders reach Raj Bhavan for Tamil Nadu cabinet and CM-designate E Palanisamy's oath ceremony


31-member Tamil Nadu cabinet to be sworn-in at 4.30 PM: Raj Bhavan

First Published: Thursday, February 16, 2017 04:26 PM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.