Neiphiu Rio sworn in as Chief Minister of Nagaland; BJP Chief Amit Shah, HM Rajnath Singh attend oath-taking ceremony

New Delhi, PTI | Updated : 08 March 2018, 01:29 PM
Neiphiu Rio - File Photo
Neiphiu Rio - File Photo

Neiphiu Rio took oath as the new Chief Minister of the Nagaland on Thursday. Rio's Nationalist Democratic People's Party which formed an alliance with the BJP won 29 seats in the recently held assembly elections. 

BJP chief Amit Shah and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh attend the ceremony in state capital Kohima. The BJP's Y Patton also took oath as the state's deputy chief minister.

Rio has to prove his majority on the floor of the House “on or before March 16”, according to a media release issued by the office of Governor P B Acharya Tuesday evening.

Source said that Meghalaya's newly-appointed Chief Minister Conrad Sangma and his counterparts from  Arunachal Pradesh, Assam and Manipur too will be present at the swearing-in ceremony.

This will be Neiphiu Rio's fourth time as the Chief Minister of Nagaland. Mr Rio was the Chief Minister of Nagaland for three terms between 2003 and 2014, making him the only Nagaland Chief Minister to have served three consecutive terms.

First Published: Thursday, March 08, 2018 11:07 AM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.