PM Modi, Amit Shah congratulate President-elect Ram Nath Kovind; here's who said what on Twitter

20 July 2017, 09:40 PM
Ram Nath Kovind
Ram Nath Kovind

NDA's nominee and former Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind won the Presidential elections on Thursday and he would take charge as the 14th President of India on July 25. He received 7, 02, 644 votes while UPA's candidate Meira Kumar secured 3,67, 314 votes. Kovind received 66% of the votes while Meira Kumar got 34 % votes.

PM Modi congratulated Ram Nath Kovind for his decisive victory. He said that he was gladdened by extensive support for Ram Nath Kovind among MPs & across various states. He further thanked the members of the electoral college.

He also congratulated Meira Kumar for her campaign, claiming that it was carried out in the spirit of democratic ethos & values we all are proud of.

Other top leaders of the country such as Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, UP CM Yogi Adityanath and others too offered their congratulations to Kovind for his amazing victory.

First Published: Thursday, July 20, 2017 04:43 PM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.