Board Exam Result 2019

Supreme Court gets 5 new Judges, total strength now at 28

New Delhi, PTI | Updated : 17 February 2017, 11:42 AM
Supreme Court (file Pics)
Supreme Court (file Pics)

Five new Supreme Court judges were on Friday sworn in, taking the apex court's strength to 28, including the Chief Justice of India.

Those who took oath on Friday are  Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul, Justice Navin Sinha, Justice Mohan M Shantanagoudar, Justice Deepak Gupta and Justice S Abdul Nazeer. The oath taking ceremony was administered by  CJI JS Khehar. 

Justice Kaul was the Chief Justice of Madras High Court while Justice Sinha was the Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court. Justices Shantanagoudar and Gupta were the chief justices of Kerala and Chhattisgarh high courts respectively and Justice Nazeer was a judge in the Karnataka High Court.

The sanctioned strength of judges in the apex court is 31, including the CJI. President Pranab Mukherjee had recently signed their Warrants of Appointment. 

First Published: Friday, February 17, 2017 11:34 AM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.