Sushma Swaraj's request for vote turned down politely by AIUDF president

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 24 December 2017, 10:29 AM
Sushma Swaraj request for vote turned down politely by AIUDF president (File Photo)
Sushma Swaraj request for vote turned down politely by AIUDF president (File Photo)

Union External Minister Sushma Swaraj’s request to vote for BJP on Twitter was declined by All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) president M Badruddin Ajmal with a reply that he will cast vote for the saffron party the day BJP stops ‘differentiating between majority and minority community.’

The BJP senior leader asked Ajmal to vote for BJP after he thanked her on Twitter for voting in the United Nation against United States’s decision of recognising Jerusalem as Israel’s capital.

The AIUDF president on Twitter wrote to the external affairs minister, “Thanks Government of India for voting in the UN against US decision of Jerusalem as Israel's capital.”

Responding to the gratitude message, Sushma Swaraj made a failed attempt to make AIUDF their ally in the northeastern belt. She tweeted, “Thank you Ajmal Sahib. Now you vote for us.”

Ajmal denying to Swaraj’s vote request said that he votes for the country.

The AIUDF president replied, “Our vote is always for India, Madam. The day BJP does not differentiate between Majority and Minority community, our vote will be for you.

Also read: Sushma Swaraj seeks report on Hyderabad man killing in United States

Ajmal further wrote that he is grateful to the BJP for seeking support but denied to be an ally of the saffron party. The AIUDF president further wrote, “I am grateful to the BJP for seeking our support but there is no question of supporting the BJP ever. The present situation has become so communally polarized. We can’t be party to a government like this.”

The AIUDF has a strong presence in the northeastern part of the country and the BJP is trying its level best to gain strength in the region.

Assembly elections for Meghalaya and Tripura are to be held in 2018.

First Published: Sunday, December 24, 2017 08:54 AM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.