Union ministers Rajiv Pratap Rudy, M N Pandey, Sanjeev Balyan, Faggan Singh Kulaste resign ahead of Sept 3 cabinet rejig

01 September 2017, 03:59 PM

Ahead of a major cabinet rejig, Union ministers Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Mahendra Nath Pandey, Faggan Singh Kulaste and MoS Water Resources Sanjeev Balyan resigned from cabinet on Thursday. Mahendra Nath Pandey's resignation came after he was named Uttar Pradesh BJP President on Thursday. The cabinet reshuffle will take place on Sunday at 10 am. 

While talking to reporters, Rudy said it is a general practice in the party, and he was asked to do so. Reacting to his resignation, he said that it is a prerogative of Prime Minister and party. There is no argument behind such decisions, he said.

Rudy further added that he would continue his services for the organisation.  

Sources in the party say that party wants to introduce fresh faces in Cabinet. A source said that Karnataka BJP MP Prahalad Joshi and Bagpat MP Satyapl Singh could be inducted in the government.

It is said that  Giriraj Singh could be asked to resign while Union minister Uma Bharti has wished to quit citing health reasons.

Also Read: PM Modi’s cabinet heads for reshuffle: Defence, I&B, Urban Affairs, Environment up for redistribution

Source also say that Union Road and Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari is likely to get Railways and incumbent minister Suresh Prabhu could get the charge of Ministry of Environment. It is also believed that AIADMK's Thambidurai could be given cabinet berth if his party (AIADMK) joins NDA. On Thursday, BJP president Amit Shah had a meeting with party leaders and later he had met Prime minister Narendra Modi in the late evening. 

Sources said that Union minister of state for energy Piyush Goyal may get the charge of Ministry of Defence. 

Also Read: PM Modi may reshuffle his Cabinet to include fresh faces after April 12

First Published: Friday, September 01, 2017 08:22 AM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.