Uttar Pradesh elections: Mayawati releases first list of 100 BSP candidates

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 05 January 2017, 12:14 PM
A file photo of BSP chief Mayawati.
A file photo of BSP chief Mayawati.

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati released on Thursday the first list of 100 party candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh.

The BSP is contesting the crucial polls on its own amid an ongoing feud within the ruling Samajwadi Party.

Just two days ago, the BSP supremo had indicated caste-wise details of her party's list during a press conference in Lucknow.

Mayawati had said that of the 403 seats, "85 are reserved for the SCs and 87 tickets have been given to dalits, 97 to Muslims, 106 to OBCs, 113 to upper castes (66 to Brahmins, 36 to Kshetriyas and 11 to Kayasthas, Vaishyas, Punjabis)." 

The BSP chief said that she had decided the candidates long ago and there will be no change in it.

(With inputs from agencies)

First Published: Thursday, January 05, 2017 12:09 PM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.