IPL 2018 dates announced; CSK, RR to make comeback into high voltage league

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 22 January 2018, 07:30 PM
IPL season 11 dates announced!! (Source: iplt20.com)
IPL season 11 dates announced!! (Source: iplt20.com)

Indian Premier League (IPL) Commissioner Rajiv Shukla on Monday announced the dates for IPL season 11. The cricket league will commence on April 6 and end on May 27.

IPL 11’s opening ceremony will be conducted in Mumbai on April 6 and the first match will be played on April 7 also in Mumbai. The finale of the tournament will take place on May 27 in Mumbai.

The auctions for IPL will take place in Bengaluru on January 27 and 28, while the retaining ceremony of players took place on January 4. Cricketer Mahendra Singh Dhoni was retained to his old team, Chennai Super Kings, while skipper Virat Kohli was retained in Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rohit Sharma was retained by Mumbai Indians.

Also Read| IPL 2018 Auction: Gayle,Stokes,Maxwell spearhead Marquee foreign players list

IPL 2018 will be a welcome back for Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals, along with the other six teams namely Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Night Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore. The two new teams, Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions, will now be out of the league.

Both Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were suspended from the league for two years over betting activities. The Supreme Court lifted the ban on both the teams and allowed them to be a part of IPL again.

First Published: Monday, January 22, 2018 06:42 PM
For all the latest Sports News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.