Rio Olympics 2016: Performance of Indian contingent

Rio de Janeiro, PTI | Updated : 22 August 2016, 06:22 AM

India with two medals finished at 67th position in Rio Olympics. Shuttler P V Sindhu bagged silver medal and wrestler Sakshi Malik won Bronze. 


P V Sindhu secured a silver medal after losing to Carolina Marin in the women’s singles final. Saina Nehwal failed to progress beyond the league stage in women’s singles. Kidambi Srikanth lost in the men’s singles quarterfinals against Lin Dan. Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa failed to advance to the knock-out stage of women’s doubles. Men’s doubles pair of Manu Attri and B Sumeeth Reddy also failed to make the knock-out stage.


Sakshi Malik won bronze in women’s 58kg freestyle.Vinesh Phogat retired after suffering an injury in the quarterfinal of women’s 48kg. Babita Kumari lost in the pre-quarterfinal round of the women’s 53kg freestyle. London Olympics bronze medallist Yogeshwar Dutt lost in qualification round of men’s 65kg freestyle. Sandeep Tomar lost his pre-quarterfinal bout of men’s 57kg freestyle. In Greco-Roman, both Ravinder Khatri and Hardeep Singh lost in the pre-quarterfinals of 85kg and 98kg, respectively.

Narsingh Yadav was ruled out from representing India in men’s 74kg freestyle category after he was slapped with a four-year ban by Court of Arbitration for Sports (CAS) for flunking a dope test after WADA challenged the clean chit given to him by the National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA).


Dipa Karmakar finished fourth in Vaults final.


Mixed Doubles: Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna lost the bronze medal play-off to Radek Stepanek and Lucie Hradecka of Czech Republic.

Men’s doubles: Leander Paes and Rohan Bopanna lost in the first round to Polish duo of Marcin Matkowski and Lukasz Kubot.

Women’s double: Sania Mirza and Prarthana Thombare lost in the first round to Chinese pair of Shuai Zhang and Shuai Peng.

10m Air Rifle (Men):

Abhinav Bindra finished 4th in the finals, while Gagan Narang failed to qualify. 10m Air Pistol (Men): Jitu Rai finished eighth in the finals, while Gurpreet Singh failed to qualify for the finals.

50m Pistol (Men): Jitu Rai and Prakash Nanjappa failed to qualify for the finals. 50m Rifle Prone: Gagan Narang and Chain Singh failed to qualify for finals.

Men's Trap: Manavjit Singh Sandhu and Kynan Chenai failed to qualify for finals. 25m rapid fire pistol (Men): Gurpreet 
Singh failed to qualify for finals.


Mairaj Ahmed Khan failed to qualify for finals. 10m Air Rifle (Women): Apurvi Chandela and Ayonika Paul
failed to qualify for the finals. 10m Air Pistol & 25m pistol (Women): Heena Sidhu failedto qualify for both 10m and 25m finals.


Women's 3000m steeplechase: Lalita Babar finished 10thin finals. But Sudha Singh failed to qualify for the finals.

Women's 100m: Dutee Chand failed to qualify for finals. Women's 200m: Srabani Nanda failed to qualify forfinals.

Women's 400m: Nirmala Sheoran failed to qualify for finals.Women's 800m: Tintu Luka failed to qualify for the semifinals.

Women's Shot Put: Manpreet Kaur failed to qualify for finals. Women's Discus: Seema Punia failed to qualify for finals.

Women's 20km Walk: Khushbir Kaur finished 54th, while  Sapana Punia 'did not finish' the race.

Women's 4x400m Relay: Indian team finished seventh in Heat 2 and overall 13th and failed to qualify for the finals.
Men's 4x400m Relay: Indian team disqualified.

Men's Discus Throw: Vikas Gowda failed to qualify for the finals after finishing 28th in the qualification round.

Men's 800m Round 1: Jinson Johnson failed to qualify for the finals.

Men's 400m: Muhammad Anas Yahiya failed to qualify for the finals.

Men's Long Jump: Ankit Sharma failed to qualify for thefinals.

Men's Triple Jump: Ranjith Maheshwary failed to qualify for the finals.

Men's 20km race walk: Gurmeet Singh, Manish Singh Rawat and Ganapathi Krishnan failed to qualify.

Men's 50km Walk: Sandeep Kumar finished 35th.Men's Marathon: Gopi T finished 25th and Kheta Ram 26th.


Hockey Men: India lost to Belgium in the quarterfinals.

Hockey Women: Failed to qualify for the quarterfinals after drawing one and losing four of their league games.


Vikas Krishan lost in the quarterfinals of 75kg.Manoj Kumar lost in the pre-quarterfinals of 64kg.Shiva Thapa lost in the opening round of 56kg. 


Women's team: Indian team lost in the quarterfinals.Women's Individual: Deepika Kumari and Bombayla Devi lost in the pre-quarterfinals, while Laxmirani Majhi lost in the Round of 64.Men's Individual: Atanu Das lost in the pre-quarterfinals.


 Men: SSP Chawrasia finished tied 50th and Anirban Lahiri tied 57th.Women: Aditi Ashok finished 41st.


Sathish Sivalingam finished 11th in men's 77kg.Saikhom Mirabai Chanu failed to complete her event in 48kg category after failing to lift the weight in all her three attempts in clean & jerk.


All four players -- Sharath Kamal, Soumyajit Ghosh,Mouma Das and Manika Batra -- lost in first round.


Men's Single Sculls: Dattu Baban Bhokanal finished 13th.


Women's 200m Freestyle: Shivani Kataria finished 28th. Men's 200m Butterfly (Heats): Sajan Prakash finished
41st among 43.


Avtar Singh lost in the opening round

First Published: Monday, August 22, 2016 06:01 AM
For all the latest News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.