Sports Ministry announces cash awards for Paralympic medallists

06 September 2016, 04:43 PM
(Source: Getty Images)
(Source: Getty Images)

In a fine gesture, the Sports Ministry on Tuesday announced that medallists from the Paralympics in Rio de Janeiro will be given cash awards at par with the medal winners of last month’s Olympic Games.

“Gold medallists of #Paralympic Games are entitled to Rs 75 Lacs, Silver Rs 50 Lacs & Bronze Rs 30 Lacs as cash award from MYAS,” the Ministry tweeted from its official handle.

“This cash award to the #Paralympic medallists is at par with medallists of #Olympics,” it added.India has sent its biggest-ever contingent of 17 athletes to the Rio Paralympics starting tomorrow.

There in the squad is, Devendra Jhajharia, India’s first Paralympic gold medallist (Athens 2004), and will be eyeing a medal at the javelin throw event in the F46 category.

The Squad:Mariyappan Thangavelu (high jump), Varun Singh Bhati (high jump), Pooja (archery), Sharad Kumar (high jump), Rampal Chahar (high jump), Sundar Singh Gurjar (javelin throw), Devendra Jhajaria (javelin throw), Rinku (javelin throw), Narender Ranbir (javelin throw), Sandeep (javelin throw), Amit Kumar Saroha (club throw), Deepa Malik (shot put), Dharambir (club throw), Ankur Dhama (1500 metres), Basha Farman (powerlifting), Suyash Narayan Jadhav (swimming), Naresh Kumar Sharma (shooting).

First Published: Tuesday, September 06, 2016 04:32 PM
For all the latest News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.