Bypoll results thumbs up to PM Modi's demonetisation move? BJP pushes CPM to 3rd place in WB, gains massive vote share in Tripura

New Delhi, Pratyush Ranjan | Updated : 23 November 2016, 12:08 PM
File photo of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. PTI Photo
File photo of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. PTI Photo

Amid protests and forced adjournments in both Houses of Parliament by opposition parties on demonetisation row, the Narendra Modi government on Tuesday found reasons to cheer as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) managed to win all assembly and Lok Sabha seats it had won before the bypolls held on November 19 this year. 

According to reports of the bypoll results, the BJP has retained all the assembly and Lok Sabha seats it had secured before the elections. 

The BJP also snatched two assembly seats - one in Assam and one in Arunachal Pradesh - from the Congress party.

According to a tweet by psephologist Yashwant Deshmukh of CVoter, the Congress has got zero percent vote share in Arunachal Pradesh's Hayuliang seat and the party candidate was declared disqualified.

The Congress has managed to win just one assembly seat Nellithope, vacated for Chief Minister V Narayanasamy in Puducherry.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in his series of tweets on Tuesday evening, thanked the people for showing faith in BJP. 

The PM tweeted from his personal Twitter handle @narendramodi-

# I thank people for the continued faith in BJP & in the BJP's unwavering focus on development and good governance.

# I appreciate @BJP4Bengal for the spirited performance. BJP is fully committed to diligently serving the wonderful people of West Bengal.

# Congrats to Tripura BJP Karyakartas for an impressive performance in the bypolls. Good to see BJP expanding its base in the Northeast.

# I congratulate all BJP Karyakartas & leaders for the impressive victories in Madhya Pradesh, Assam and Arunachal Pradesh. @BJP4India

Here's the details of vote swing and winning details of all seats in Tuesday's bypoll results- 

1. Arunachal Pradesh
North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) candidate Dasanglu Pul of BJP won the Hayuliang Assembly by-poll after defeating her lone rival Yompi Kri, an Independent candidate, by 942 votes.

Pul, who was contesting on a BJP ticket, polled 5,326 votes while Kri could secure 4,384 votes in the by-poll held on November 19.

The winner is the youngest of three wives of former Arunachal Pradesh chief minister Kalikho Pul. The by-poll was necessitated due to his alleged suicide.

Hayuliang (Assembly) - vote share
INC: 0% (Swing:-78%)
BJP: 54% (Swing: +38%)
Others: 46% (Swing: +40%)

2. Madhya Pradesh
The BJP has retained the Nepanagar Assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh with party candidate Manju Dadu defeating her nearest Congress rival Antar Singh Barde by a margin of 42,198 votes.

Nepanagar (Assembly) - vote share
INC: 35%(Vote Swing: - 4%)
BJP: 60%(Vote Swing: + 8%)
Others: 5%(Vote Swing: - 5%)

BJP's Gyan Singh has won Lok Sabha seat from Shahdol (Madhya Pradesh) by a margin of 60383 votes.

Shahdol (Lok Sabha) - vote share
INC: 38% (Vote Swing: 9%)
BJP: 45% (Vote Swing: -9%)
Others: 17% (Vote Swing: 0%)

3. Assam

In Assam, BJP won both Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat and Baithalangso assembly seat.

Lakhimpur (Lok Sabha) - vote share
INC: 36% (Vote Swing: +7%)
BJP: 55% (Vote Swing: 0%)
Others: 9% (Vote Swing: -7%)

Baithalangso (Assembly) - vote share
INC: 41% (Vote Swing: +1%)
BJP: 54% (Vote Swing: +25%)
Others: 5% (Vote Swing: -26%)

4. Tripura

The ruling CPI-M in Tripura has won the two Assembly seats, Barjala (SC) and Khowai, by defeating Congress and TMC candidates respectively.

CPI-M candidate Jhumu Sarkar trounced his nearest BJP rival Shistamohan Das by a margin of 3,374 votes in Barjala (SC) constituency. CPI-M secured 15,769 votes, while BJP garnered 12,395 votes.

Barjala (Assembly) - vote share
CPM: 45% (Vote Swing: - 3%)
INC: 3% (Vote Swing: - 46%)
BJP: 35% (Vote Swing: + 34%)

In Khowai constituency, CPI-M candidate Biswajit Datta trounced his nearest TMC candidate Manoj Das by a margin of 16,047 votes. CPI-M secured 24810 votes and TMC 8763 votes.

Khowai (Assembly) - vote share
CPM: 68% (Vote Swing: +6.7%)
INC: 2% (Vote Swing: -35.3%)
BJP: 7% (Vote Swing: +6.3%)

The Congress' vote share has nosedived from 43% plus to just about 2% votes. The BJP makes huge gain in North East inroads. BJP formally replaces Congress as main opposition in Tripura.

Overall vote share
CPM: 57% (Vote Swing: +2 %)
INC: 2% (Vote Swing: - 41 %)
BJP: 21% (Vote Swing: +20 %)

5. West Bengal
Trinamool Congress has retained two Lok Sabha seats (Cooch Behar, Tamluk) and one assembly seat (Monteswar).

Cooch Behar (Lok Sabha) - vote share
TMC: 59% (Vote Swing: +19%)
Left+: 6% (Vote Swing: - 27%)
BJP: 28% (Vote Swing: +12%)

Tumluk (Lok Sabha) - vote share
TMC: 60%(Vote Swing: + 6%)
CPM: 22%(Vote Swing: -13%)
BJP: 15%(Vote Swing: +9%)

Monteswar (Assembly) - vote share
TMC: 78% (Vote Swing: +34%)
CPM: 11% (Vote Swing: -33%)
BJP: 9% (Vote Swing: +1%)

Hailing the mandate for TMC in the by-elections in West Bengal as "people's revolt" against demonetisation, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday attacked Prime Minister Narendra Modi for "failing" to bring back black money from abroad.

"The by-election result is a befitting reply against the anti-people demonetisation by the Centre. It's a people's revolt, rather than a mass revolt against the center. BJP should take lessons from this mandate," she told newsmen before leaving for New Delhi to join the protest rally by the Opposition.

However, according to tweets by Yashwant Deshmukh of CVoters, the BJP (21%) has pushed CPM+ (14%) to third place in overall vote share.

According to him, in West Bengal bypolls of 2 Lok Sabha seats and one assembly seats; the BJP has polled 21% which is upswing of +10%. The CPM+ has managed 14%, downswing of - 21% total votes.

6. Tamil Nadu

The AIADMK has retained the Thanjavur Assembly constituency by a margin of over 25,000 votes and was surging ahead in two other segments in Tamil Nadu.

Thanjavur (Assembly) - vote share
DMK: 40%(Vote Swing: - 6%)
AIADMK: 54%(Vote Swing: + 3%)
Others: 6%(Vote Swing: + 3%)

In Aravakkurichi, AIADMK's V Senthil Balaji won the election by a good margin over his nearest DMK rival K C Palanisamy.

Aravakuruchi (Assembly) - vote share
DMK: 39%(Vote Swing: -11%)
AIADMK: 54%(Vote Swing: +7%)
Others: 7%(Vote Swing: +4%)

In Thirupparankundram Assembly segment, AIADMK candidate AK Bose won by a comfortable margin over his nearest rival, DMK candidate P Saravanan.

Thiruparankundram (Assembly) - vote share
DMK: 35%(Vote Swing: -1%)
AIADMK: 56%(Vote Swing: +9%)
Others:9%(Vote Swing: -8%)

In Thanjavur, AIADMK candidate M Rengasamy won by a comfortable margin of over 25,000 votes against DMK candidate Anjugham Boopathy.

Thanjavur (Assembly) - vote share
DMK: 41% (Vote Swing: - 5%)
AIADMK: 57% (Vote Swing: + 6%)
Others: 2% (Vote Swing: - 1%)

7. Puducherry bypoll 2016 results

Senior Congress leader and Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy has won the bypoll to the Nellithope Assembly constituency defeating AIADMK's Om Sakthi Segar, by a margin of 11,144 votes.

Nellithope (Assembly) - vote share 
INC: 70% (Swing: +1%)
ADMK: 28% (Swing: +4%)
Others: 2% (Swing: - 5%)

(Vote share data taken from Yashwant Deshmukh's tweets)
(With inputs from PTI reports/ANI Tweets)