Assembly Elections 2019: Haryana Records 65 Per Cent Voter Turnout, Says Election Commission

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 21 October 2019, 08:36 PM
Haryana Assembly Elections: Nearly 1.83 crore voters including 1.07 lakh service voters are eligible to exercise their right to franchise.
Haryana Assembly Elections: Nearly 1.83 crore voters including 1.07 lakh service voters are eligible to exercise their right to franchise. (Photo Credit : File Photo )

Haryana Assembly Elections: The polls to the 90-member assembly are underway in Haryana. Nearly 1.83 crore voters including 1.07 lakh service voters are eligible to exercise their right to franchise. The key parties in the fray are the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Congress and Indian National Lok Dal. Over 89 lakh young voters under 40 years of age are likely to play a crucial role in the polls. According to the Election Commission data, there are 89,42,668 voters who fall in this category, which forms a major chunk of over 1.83 eligible voters in the state. There are over 3.82 lakh voters, many of them first-timers, who fall in the age group of 18-19 years while over 40 lakh are 20-29 years of age.

“There are 3,82,446 voters in the age group of 18 to 19 years, while 40,67,413 electorates are in the age group of 20 to 29 years. As many as 44,92,809 voters fall in the bracket of 30 to 39 years,â€Â Haryana’s Chief Electoral Officer Anurag Agarwal said. Of the over 1.83 crore voters, over 85 lakh are women besides 252 transgenders. There are 1.7 lakh service voters. As many as 1,169 candidates, including 105 women, are in the fray these elections.

Here are all the LIVE updates: 

  Oct 21, 2019  19:46 (IST)
News Nation Poll Of Exit Polls Predicts BJP To Retain Power In Haryana

The ruling Bharat Janata Party (BJP) under Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar’s leadership is likely to return to power in Haryana with an even bigger majority, according to the News Nation Poll Of Exit Polls, which is an aggregate of all the exit polls. The Poll of Exit Polls by News Nation predicts the saffron party is likely to get as many as 67 seats, a massive 20 seats jump from its 2014 tally.... Read Full Story Here

  Oct 21, 2019  19:40 (IST)
61 per cent voter turnout in Haryana

The voting for the 90-member Haryana Legislative Assembly has ended. The average voter turnout is 61 per cent, though the Election Commission is yet to release the official figure.

  Oct 21, 2019  18:12 (IST)
Voting ends in Haryana

Voting has ended in all the Assemby seats in Haryana. However, those who were already in the line, will be allowed to cast their votes. The final voter turnout figures are yet to be released.

  Oct 21, 2019  17:31 (IST)
58 per cent votes polled till 5 pm

58 per cent votes have been polled in Haryana till 5 pm, according to India Today.

  Oct 21, 2019  17:31 (IST)
56.60 per cent voter turnout in Haryana

In what looks like a slow voting, 56.60 per cent voter turnout was recorded in Haryana. The voting will be concluded at 6 pm.

  Oct 21, 2019  17:04 (IST)
BJP Working President JP Nadda Calls Meeting Of Party General Secretaries

BJP national working president JP Nadda to hold a meeting with party's General Secretaries tomorrow at BJP HQ over Maharashtra Assembly Polls and Haryana Assembly Polls. Discussions regarding party functions on birth anniversary of Sardar Patel, on 31st Oct, will also be taken up.

  Oct 21, 2019  16:13 (IST)
50.59 per cent voter turnout in Haryana till 3:30 pm

50.59 per cent voter turnout recorded till 3.30 pm in Haryana. Earlier in 2014, 76 per cent polling was reported in Haryana in the 2014 elections.

  Oct 21, 2019  13:48 (IST)
Haryana Assembly Polls

25.1 per cent voter turnout recorded till 1pm in Haryana.

  Oct 21, 2019  12:11 (IST)
BJP candidate from Pehowa, Sandeep Singh casts his vote
  Oct 21, 2019  12:02 (IST)
Senior Congress leader Bhupinder Singh Hooda casts vote
  Oct 21, 2019  11:25 (IST)
Haryana Assembly Polls

  Oct 21, 2019  11:21 (IST)
Haryana Assembly Polls
  Oct 21, 2019  11:02 (IST)
Supporters of senior Congress leader Bhupinder Singh Hooda dance in Sanghi village
  Oct 21, 2019  10:53 (IST)
Haryana Assembly Polls

Haryana CM ML Khattar after casting his vote in Karnal: Voting is underway peacefully across the state. Opposition parties including Congress have already lost and have left the battleground, their tall claims have no value.

  Oct 21, 2019  10:38 (IST)
Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar rides a cycle to the polling booth
  Oct 21, 2019  10:35 (IST)

Voter turnout is 8.73 per cent till 9 am in Haryana.

  Oct 21, 2019  10:30 (IST)

Mahavir Singh Phogat, father of wrestler Babita Phogat who is contesting from Dadri as BJP candidate: She has a clean image & her speeches are passionate, people are influenced by it and are giving her their blessings. She will win election by a big margin.

  Oct 21, 2019  09:34 (IST)
Haryana Assembly Polls
  Oct 21, 2019  09:24 (IST)
Haryana Assembly Polls: Don’t Have Voter ID? Carry Any Of THESE Documents

Click here to read...

  Oct 21, 2019  09:06 (IST)
Wrestlers Babita Phogat, Geeta Phogat cast vote
  Oct 21, 2019  08:52 (IST)
Haryana Assembly Polls

Sonipat: Yogeshwar Dutt, Olympic Medallist & BJP candidate from Baroda casts his vote. He is contesting against Congress candidate Krishan Hooda.

  Oct 21, 2019  08:52 (IST)

TikTok star Sonali Phogat who is contesting on a BJP ticket from Adampur constituency, after casting her vote. She is up against senior Congress leader Kuldeep Bishnoi.

  Oct 21, 2019  08:51 (IST)
JJP's Dushyant Chautala with family drives in a tractor to the polling station to cast vote
  Oct 21, 2019  08:10 (IST)
Haryana Assembly Polls

Haryana Pradesh Congress Committee President Kumari Selja casts her vote.

  Oct 21, 2019  07:55 (IST)

Gurugram: Voting is on hold after an EVM machine at booth number 286 in Badshahpur stops working.

  Oct 21, 2019  07:43 (IST)

Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Congress: Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) and Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) are not factors, the contest is between Congress and BJP. Congress will get the majority

  Oct 21, 2019  07:42 (IST)
Haryana Assembly Polls

Voting underway at polling booth 128-129 in Balali village in Charkhi Dadri constituency. Wrestler Babita Phogat is contesting on a BJP ticket from here against Congress candidate Nirpender Singh Sangwan and Jannayak Janta Party (JJP) candidate Satpal Sangwan.

  Oct 21, 2019  07:41 (IST)
PM Modi urges voters to turnout in record numbers
  Oct 21, 2019  07:40 (IST)

Voting to the 90-member assembly underway in Haryana.

First Published: Monday, October 21, 2019 07:28 AM
Post Comment (+)
News Nation IOS News Nation Android