Know Your Rights: Consumers have right to be protected against marketing of goods, services hazardous to life

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 15 November 2017, 09:08 PM

Right to Safety – Consumer Protection Rights

Every year millions of citizens of India lose their lives or get seriously injured due to usage of defective products or unethical services rendered by doctors, pharmacies and the automobile industry. 

To protect the consumers from exploitation by traders and manufacturers, the Consumer Protection Act came into existence in 1986 granting every consumer rights that include safety, information, choice, redress and consumer education on the products they buy or the services they avail.

The 'Right to Safety' under the Consumer Protection Act is the right to be protected against consumption of goods and services hazardous to health and life. The right ensures that the consumers are safeguarded against major health hazards caused by the usage of sub standard or poor quality products. So in layman's terms, let us understand what does the Right to Safety means - 

1. Right to be protected against the marketing of goods and services, which are hazardous to life and property.

2. The purchased goods and services availed of should not only meet their immediate needs, but also fulfill long term interests.

3. It is the responsibility of the seller to give the complete information about the product.

4. Before purchasing, consumers should insist on the quality of the products as well as on the guarantee of the products and services.

5. They should preferably purchase quality marked products such as ISI, AGMARK, etc.

Laws / Acts framed by Indian Govt for empowering consumers with the Right to Safety 

The Food Safety and Standards Regulations 2011 

Protects consumers against adulterated food and set standards for every conceivable category of food. 

The Bureau of Indian Standards 1986 

It requires manufacturers to voluntarily declare to the bureau that their product or service is ready to be certified and earn an ISI mark of quality. 

The Consumer courts like District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forums, State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commissions and National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commissions have been set up to hear cases regarding consumer disputes and grievances.

First Published: Wednesday, November 15, 2017 08:53 PM
Post Comment (+)