Maha govt reconstitutes panel on border dispute with Karnataka

Mumbai, PTI | Updated : 06 March 2015, 02:31 PM

Maharashtra government has said it had reconstituted a high powered committee on the Maharashtra-Karnataka border row. The eight-member panel, headed by Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, will comprise senior NCP leader Sharad Pawar and senior state ministers from both BJP and Shiv Sena. 

Leaders of opposition in State Legislature will also be part of the panel, according to a government resolution issued recently.   

The border dispute between the states is an old row as Maharashtra claims Belgaum and a few other border areas,which are currently part of Karnataka. A case filed by the Maharashtra government is pending before the Supreme Court. 

First Published: Friday, March 06, 2015 02:21 PM
Post Comment (+)