Delhi assembly polls: Congress consensus on 20-22 names

New Delhi, PTI | Updated : 19 October 2013, 11:07 PM

Ahead of assembly elections 2013, the Congress screening committee on Saturday arrived at a consensus on the names of 20-22 sitting MLAs to be given tickets for the Dec 4 assembly polls. 

"There was consensus on some 20-22 names of MLAs for party tickets. The remaining names will be decided in the next committee meeting on Tuesday," said a senior leader. 

Sources said clean record and winning probability were primary considerations for choosing candidates. 


A list of 42 sitting MLAs was forwarded by the 27-member Delhi election committee after it failed to unanimously decide on ticket distribution. 

A decision on 28 seats will be taken later. 

In an earlier screening committee meeting, it was decided that aspirants with serious criminal charges, those who have lost twice from their constituencies or were defeated by more than 10,000 votes would not get tickets. 

Around 1,600 applicants are in the fray for tickets, with the final call to be taken by the Sonia Gandhi-headed Central Election Committee. 

First Published: Saturday, October 19, 2013 11:00 PM
Post Comment (+)