Maharashtra-Haryana Assembly Elections

Kejriwal to take on Dikshit in New Delhi constituency

New Delhi, PTI | Updated : 25 June 2013, 10:47 PM

Aam Aadmi Party convenor Arvind Kejriwal will contest from New Delhi Assembly constituency to take on Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit directly in the upcoming Delhi Assembly elections.

With this, AAP has announced the names of 20 candidates. In the second list released here on Tuesday by the party for nine Assembly constituencies, the names of Kejriwal, his colleague and activist Gopal Rai figure among others.

Rai will contest the polls from Babarpur Assembly constituency, while former Congress worker Gajanan will be candidate from Bawana.

Other candidates include Rishipal (Chhatarpur), Sushil Chauhan (Krishna Nagar), Sohail Salauddin (Matia Mahal), Vandana (Shalimar Bagh), Kapil Dhama (Mushtafabad) and Dr Atul Gupta (Vishwasnagar).

Kejriwal-led AAP had on June 15 announced the first list of 11 candidates which included his colleagues Manish Sisodia (Patparganj) and Shazia Ilmi (R K Puram).

The candidates - which include ex-servicemen, former Congress workers, scribes, advocates, engineers, sportsperson and social workers - were selected after a month long screening by the party's selection committee.

The selection process included screening, interviewing and verifying criminal antecedents and popularity of the prospective candidates.

First Published: Tuesday, June 25, 2013 10:46 PM
Post Comment (+)