KS Alagiri appointed new president of Tamil Nadu Congress, four working presidents also named

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 02 February 2019, 10:29 PM
KS Alagiri appointed new president of Tamil Nadu Congress.
KS Alagiri appointed new president of Tamil Nadu Congress.

KS Alagiri has been appointed as the new president of Tamil Nadu Congress. Apart from Alagiri, Congress president Rahul Gandhi also appointed H Vasantha Kumar, K Jayakumar, MK Vishnu Prasad and Mayura Jayakumar as new working presidents to assist him. Alagiri is an incumbent member of the Parliament from Cuddalore Constituency.Previously, he was elected to the Tamil Nadu legislative assembly as a Congress candidate from Chidambaram constituency in the 1991 election, and as a Tamil Maanila Congress candidate in the 1996 election.

The party appreciates the contribution of outgoing TNCC president Thirunavakkarasar," a statement issued by the Congress said. Gandhi has also appointed Mariyam Bibi and Miani Dalbot Shira as working presidents for Andaman and Nicobar Islands Mahila Congress and  Meghalaya Mahila Congress.

The Congress chief formed the Election Committee for Lakshadweep TCC and appointed national conveners and zonal coordinators. He also made some other appointments in the AICC SC Department for Pradesh Congress Committees of Delhi, Gujarat, Tripura, West Bengal and Chandigarh TCC. 

First Published: Saturday, February 02, 2019 09:21 PM
For all the latest Election News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.