IND vs WI World Cup 2019

Lok Sabha Polls: NCP releases its first list of candidates, Supriya Sule to contest from Baramati

Mumbai, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 15 March 2019, 06:55 PM
The NCP has fielded Supriya Sule from Baramati. (File Photo: PTI)
The NCP has fielded Supriya Sule from Baramati. (File Photo: PTI)

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) on Thursday announced its first list of candidates for forthcoming Lok Sabha Elections. The NCP's list has names of 11 candidates from Maharashtra and one from Lakshadweep.

The NCP has fielded Supriya Sule from Baramati, Sanjay Dina Patil from Mumbai North East, Anand Paranjpe from Thane, Sunil Tatkare from Raigad. However, state party President Jayant Patil did not name the nominee for the Maval constituency, from where Pawar's grand-nephew Parth Ajit Pawar is expected to contest.

Also, candidature for Madha constituency remains undecided. The constituency is witnessing a sharp tussle between the sitting MP Vijaysinh Mohite-Patil and his son Ranjitsinh, with the latter virtually threatening to walk over to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) if denied a ticket.

With 48 Lok Sabha constituencies, Maharashtra sends the second highest number of MPs after Uttar Pradesh which has 80 seats. In 2014, the NCP and the Congress had fielded 21 and 26 candidates respectively. However, the grand old party managed to win just two seats and the NCP grabbed 4 of them. 

Names of all the candidates in first list of NCP:

1. Baramati - Supriya Sule

2. Thane - Anand Paranjpe

3. Kalyan - Babaji Patil

4. Mumbai Northeast - Sanjay Dina Patil

5. Kolhapur - Dhananjay Mahadik

6. Raigad - Sunil Tatkare

7. Jalgaon - Gulabrao Deokar

8. Parbhani - Rajesh Vitekar

9.  Buldhana - Rajendra Shingane

10. Satara - Udayanraje Bhosale

11. Hatkanangale - Raju Shetty (NCP will support candidature of Swabhimani Paksha)

12. Lakshadweep - Mohammed Faizal

First Published: Thursday, March 14, 2019 04:03 PM
For all the latest Election News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.