Maharashtra-Haryana Assembly Elections

Lok Sabha Elections Results: Counting @ 10 am Latest Updates: Major saffron surge in Karnataka

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 23 May 2019, 10:38 AM
Prime Minister Narendra Modi
Prime Minister Narendra Modi

The BJP has taken a huge lead in the Lok Sabha election in Karnataka over the Congress and Janata Dal Secular alliance. The BJP was ahead in 23 of the state's 28 Lok Sabha seats. The Congress and JDS was ahead in only five in early leads.

Among the prominent candidates, Tejasvi Surya of the BJP, is leading from Bangalore South constituency against the Congress's B.K Hariprasad. The JDS-Congress coalition appeared to be heading for a disastrous showing in the state after months of internal bickering and strain.

Karnataka voted in two phases on April 18 and April 23.

In 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) performed extremely well after the return of BS Yeddyurappa in the party fold. The 2014 election in Karnataka was held in a single phase on April 17. The state sends 28 members to the Lok Sabha. The BJP won 17 of these seats whereas the Congress was restricted to just 9 seats in the state. The Janata Dal-Secular (JDS) was successful in the remaining 2 seats (Mandya and Hassan). In 2009, the BJP was successful on 19 seats and the Congress and the JDS won 6 and 3 seats respectively.

The BJP received 1,33,50,285 votes with a vote share of 43.37 per cent. The Congress garnered 1,26,66,530 votes with a vote share of 41.15 per cent whereas the JDS, known as the third force in the state, got 34,06,465 votes with a vote share of 11.07 per cent. According to our analysis, the BJP was ahead in 132 Assembly segments during the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. The Congress was leading on 77 and the JDS on 15.

First Published: Thursday, May 23, 2019 10:38 AM
Post Comment (+)