Lok Sabha Polls 2019 Phase 5: PM Modi urges young voters to participate in festival of democracy

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 06 May 2019, 08:54 AM
PM Modi took to Twitter to appeal to voters. (File photo)
PM Modi took to Twitter to appeal to voters. (File photo)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday took to Twitter and appealed to the electorates to come out in large numbers and cast their votes in the fifth phase of polling in the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. "Requesting all those voting in today’s fifth phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections to do so in large numbers. A vote is the most effective way to enrich our democracy and contribute to India’s better future. I hope my young friends turnout in record numbers," the PM tweeted.

The fifth phase of the Lok Sabha Elections will take place today with over 9 crore voters exercising their franchise in 51 constituencies spread over seven states across India. The states which are going to polls in round 5 are - Uttar Pradesh (14/80 seats), Rajasthan (12/25 seats), Madhya Pradesh (7/29 seats), West Bengal (7/42 seats), Bihar (5/40 seats), Jharkhand (4/14 seats) and Jammu and Kashmir (2/6 seats). With this phase, election will be over in 424 seats and polling in the remaining 118 seats will be held on May 12 and 19.

The voting will take place between 7 am and 6 pm in most of the constituencies to decide the fate of around 674 candidates in seven states all over the country. Voting will end at 4 pm in some parts of Jharkhand due to security reasons as some areas are affected by Left-Wing Extremism. The Election Comission has set up 94,000 polling stations/booths and made elaborate security arrangements.

UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, Union Minister Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, actor-turned politician and Samajwadi Party candidate Poonam Sinha are some of the key contestants who will fight during the fifth phase of Lok Sabha polls today.

First Published: Monday, May 06, 2019 08:54 AM
Post Comment (+)