Karan Johar, Alia Bhatt and Kapil Sharma are the new entrants in advance-tax payers list

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 22 March 2017, 12:42 PM
Kran Johar Alia Bhatt and Kapil Sharma
Kran Johar Alia Bhatt and Kapil Sharma

Comedy star Kapil Sharma, producer and director Karan Johar, and actor Alia Bhatt have emerged as the new entrants in the list of top ten Bollywood celebrity advance-tax payers for the financial year 2016-17. 

According to official data cited in an Indian Express report, actor Salman Khan continues to be at the top spot in the list. 

One has to pay an advance tax if the tax liability on estimated income is likely to exceed Rs 10,000 during the financial year. This tax liability is calculated after considering tax deducted at source (TDS). According to norms under the Income-Tax Act, non-corporate assessees have to pay 30 per cent of their total advance tax in the second quarter, followed by 30 per cent and 40 per cent in the next two quarters, respectively, on their projected earnings. 

Salman Khan has paid an advance tax of Rs 44.5 crore for 2016-17, 39% more than 32 crore one year ago. His film Sultan, released in July last year, earned over Rs 500 crore worlwide. Akshay Kumar who is at second spot in the list, has paid an advance tax of Rs 29.5 crore.

The Kapil Sharma Show-fame Kapil Sharma paid Rs 23.9 crore, up 241% from Rs 7 crore last year. Karan Johar has paid Rs 11.7 crore as advance tax and Alia Bhatt Rs 4.33 crore this fiscal for their projected earanings.

Apart from the new entrants, Bollywood stars like Hrithik Roshan, Ranbir Kapoor, Kareena Kapoor and Deepika Padukone have paid Rs 25.5 crore, 16.5 crore 10.25 crore and 3.9 crore advance tax.

Amir Khan has paid a Rs 14.8 crore advance tax this year, 54% more than the last fiscal. 

First Published: Wednesday, March 22, 2017 09:53 AM
For all the latest Entertainment News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.