'Humshakals' leads at 7th Annual Golden Kela Awards

New Delhi, PTI | Updated : 17 February 2015, 05:35 PM

Multi-starrer ‘Humshakals’, which was critically-panned, leads at the 7th Annual Golden Kela Awards nominations, with five nods including worst film, worst actor for Saif Ali Khan and worst director for Sajid Khan.

Golden Kela Awards is an Indian version of Golden Raspberry Awards and honours the worst in Bollywood.

‘Humshakals’ is also nominated in the category of ‘most atrocious lyrics’ and for ‘Baawra Ho Gaya Hai Ke’ award.

Action masala film ‘Action Jackson’ is not far behind with four nominations, including worst film, worst actor for Ajay Devgn, worst actress for Sonakshi Sinha and worst director for Prabhu Deva.

Other movies in the worst film category are Salman Khan-starrer ‘Kick’, ‘Bang Hrithik Roshan-starrer Bang!’ and Shah Rukh Khan-fronted ‘Happy New Year’, all three being hits at the box-office.

For his triple role in ‘Humsahakals’, Saif is competing for the worst actor title against Devgn for ‘Action Jackson’, Arjun Kapoor for ‘Gunday’ and everything else, Salman for ‘Kick’ and Rani Mukerji for her tough cop act in ‘Mardaani’.

‘Humshakals’ helmer Sajid is vying for the worst director spot with Prabhu Deva for ‘Singham Returns’, Rohit Shetty ‘Singham Returns’, Sajid Nadiadwala ‘Kick’ and Siddharth Anand ‘Bang Bang!’.

Sonakshi is the front-runner in the worst actress category as she has been nominated not only for ‘Action Jackson’ but also for her work in Tamil superstar Rajinikanth-starrer ‘Lingaa’ and ‘Holiday’.

She is competing against Katrina Kaif (‘Bang Bang!’), Sonam Kapoor for Everything She Did, Tamannah Bhatia for ‘Entertainment’ and Jacqueline Fernandes for ‘Kick’.

Hit numbers of 2014 like ‘Blue Hai Paani Paani’ (‘Yaariyan’), ‘Yaar na Miley’ (‘Kick’), ‘Baby Doll’ (‘Ragini MMS 2’), ‘Galliyan’ (‘Ek Villain’) and ‘Tu Mera’ (‘Bang Bang!’) have been nominated for the most irritating song of the year.

Nominees for most atrocious lyrics are—Sameer for ‘Caller Tune’ (‘Humshakals’), Shabbir Ahmed for ‘Ice Cream’ from ‘The Xpose’, Yo Yo Honey Singh for ‘Blue hai Paani Paani’ (‘Yaariyan’), Vishal Dadlani for ‘Tu Meri’ (‘Bang Bang!’) and Mayur Puri for ‘Johnny Johnny’ (‘Entertainment’).

First Published: Tuesday, February 17, 2015 05:32 PM
Post Comment (+)