Andhra Pradesh special status row Highlights: 2 TDP union ministers handover resignation to PM Modi

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 08 March 2018, 11:51 PM
Andhra Pradesh special status row: 2 TDP union ministers hand over resignation to PM Modi (File Photo)
Andhra Pradesh special status row: 2 TDP union ministers hand over resignation to PM Modi (File Photo)

Two BJP ministers in TDP-ruling Andhra Pradesh government handed over their resignation to Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu on Thursday morning, a day after the party chief hinted of parting away from NDA and asked its two Union Ministers to hand over their resignation to the Prime Minister.

BJP to prevent TDP from pulling away its support from the NDA, Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley on Wednesday announced special package for Andhra Pradesh.

Reliable sources confirmed that Prime Minister Narendra Modi discussed the issue with Chandrababu Naidu.

Sources added that TDP ministers who resigned in the morning will meet the Prime Minister in the evening.

Early in the day Naidu targeting the BJP said that the Centre for behaving ‘callously’ over special status for Andhra Pradesh as Congress did in 2014.

Here are the LIVE updates

# 6 : 33 PM : Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju's hands over resignation to PM Narendra Modi

# 6: 34 PM : Union Minister YS Choudhary's resignation to PM Narendra Modi

# 5:21 PM : TDP Ministers to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi

# 5:20 PM :  TDP MP Ashok Gajapathi Raju arrives at MP YS Chowdary’s residence.

# 5:15 PM: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu explains reasons behind resignation of TDP MPs in centre.

# 1:57 PM: Chandrababu Naidu took a historical step, says RJD’s Manoj Jha.

# 1:30 PM: TDP MP and Union aviation minister Ashok Gajapati Raju and YS Chowdary sought an appointment with PM Modi for handing over their resignations.

# 12:20 PM: YSR Congress chief YS Jaganmohan Reddy says his party will support the party that promises Andhra Pradesh special category status.

# 12:15 PM: Lok Sabha adjourns for the day.

# 11:45 AM : Lok Sabha adjourned till noon. TDP parliamentarians demand special status for Andhra Pradesh.

# 11:19 AM : “Other parties are lending support to our cause have also started protesting on various issues,” says TDP leader Jayadev Galla.

# 11:15 AM: “What Arun Jaitley said yesterday is not good. They are holding hands of the North Eastern states why not Andhra Pradesh’s. Industrial incentives are being provided to them but not to Andhra Pradesh. Why this discrimination?”, says Andhra Pradesh chief minister Chandrababu Naidu at Assembly.

# 10:41 AM : TDP MPs protest inside Parliament over non-granting of special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

First Published: Thursday, March 08, 2018 06:27 PM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.