Board Exam Result 2019

Elections results 2017: List of prominent winners and losers

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 12 March 2017, 09:44 AM
Elections results 2017: List of prominent winners and losers
Elections results 2017: List of prominent winners and losers

Recently concluded Assembly elections turned into a virtual referendum on Modi’s popularity and demonetisation in politically important Uttar Pradesh and Uttrakhand.  The BJP decimated ruling SP, its alliance partner Congress and Mayavati’s BSP in UP.  

While in Uttrakhand, a similar feat was achieved and Congress CM Harish Rawat  could not even save his own seat and BJP won 57 out of 70 seats.

Congress too, crushing AAP’s hopes secured a much needed win in Punjab for its revival.  The party also emerged as the single largest party in Goa and Manipur which threw up a hung Assembly.

Also Read: BJP secures landslide victory in UP, U’Khand, Congress sweeps Punjab

But in between all this there were few who won big and few who lost and lost it all. We have compiled a list of biggest winners and losers for you. Take a look:

Uttar Pradesh

Winners:  Shivpal Yadav (SP), Jaswant Nagar; Azam Khan (SP), Rampur; Rita Bahuguna Joshi(BJP), Lucknow Cantt; Mukhtar Ansari (BSP), Mau; Sangeet Som (BJP), Sardhana; Garima Singh(BJP), Amethi; Raja Bhiaya(Independent), Kunda

Losers:  Gayatri Prajapati (SP), Amethi ; Aparna Yadav(SP), Lucknow Cantt; Amita Singh(Congress), Amethi


Winners:  Satpal Maharaj(BJP), Chautattakhal; Indira Hri (Congress), Haldwani; Yashpal Arya(BJP), Bajpur; Sanjeev Arya(BJP), Nainital

Losers: Harish Rawat(Congress), Kichha& Haridwar Rural


Winners: Navjot Singh Siddhu(Cong), Amritsar East; Amrinder Singh(Cong), Patiala; Prakash Singh Badal(Akali), Lambi; Sukhbir Badal(Akali), Jalalabad

Losers: Bhagwant Mann(AAP), Jalalabad

Also Read: Graphics to round up polls results in UP, U’Khand, Manipur, Punjab and Goa


Winners:  Francis D Souza(BJP), Mapusa; Dv Kamath(Cong), Margao; L Faleiro(Cong), Navelim;

Losers: Laxmikant  Pareskar(BJP), Mandrem; Elvis Gomes(AAP), Cuncolim


Winners: O lbobi Singh(Cong), Thoubal; N Biren Singh(BJP),Heingang

Losers: Irom Sharmila(PRJA) Thoubal      

First Published: Sunday, March 12, 2017 08:34 AM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.