NPP's Conrad Sangma sworn-in as Meghalaya's CM says Good governance, sectoral focus key to state's progress

06 March 2018, 12:07 PM

The 10-year long rule of Congress in Meghalaya has come to an end as National People's Party (NPP) President Conrad Sangma sworn in as Chief Minister on Tuesday.

Apart from Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and BJP president Amit Shah, Assam Finance Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, who is the chairman of the North East Democratic Alliance, a non-Congress entity, will also present the swearing-in ceremony at Raj Bhavan.

On Monday he was invited by Meghalaya governor Ganga Prasad to form the government in the state. 

According to an official of Raj Bhavan the governor invited Conrad Sangma to form the government as he had the support of 34 MLAs.

Sangma met the governor last evening and staked claim to form the government with the support of 34 MLAs in the 60-member Assembly.

Also Read: NPP's Congrad Sangma next CM of Meghalaya, All you need to know about him

It was said that the NPP will form the coalition Government in Meghalaya with the support of BJP, UDP, HSPDP, PDF and an independent MLA from Dalu, Samuel Sangma. NPP Chief Conrad Sangma went to stake claim for formation of new government with 34 MLAs — 19 NPP, 6 UDP, 2 each BJP and HSPDP, 4 PDF and one Independent.

But Ardent Basaiawmoit, president of Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP), with two MLAs, announced his party cannot be part of a government that has the BJP in it on Monday.

Also Read: Discordant note by Meghalaya party before swearing-in

Here are the Live updates:

# 12:00 AM: We clear on our agenda of good governance, many sectors need to be looked into. Real challenge and work starts today. We will work to take our state forward: Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma.

# 10:53 AM: Council of Ministers being sworn-in at oath ceremony in Meghalaya's Shillong

# 10:47 AM: Governor Ganga Prasad also present

# 10:44 AM: I congratulate Conrad Sangma. There was a perception that only Congress party can survive in the north-east but now that BJP has gained victory here that perception will change: Union Minister Rajnath Singh in Shillong

# 10:41 AM: NPP's Conrad Sangma sworn-in as Meghalaya chief minister 

# 10:40 AM: NPP's Conrad Sangma takes oath as Meghalaya CM in Shillong.

#10:37 AM: #WATCH Live Via ANI FB: Oath taking ceremony of Meghalaya CM elect Conrad Sangma & others in Shillong

# 10:29 AM: Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and BJP President Amit Shah arrive for oath taking ceremony of Meghalaya CM elect Conrad Sangma & others in Shillong 

# 09:50 AM: Visuals of preparation of oath taking ceremony of Meghalaya CM elect Conrad Sangma & others in Shillong

First Published: Tuesday, March 06, 2018 06:34 AM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.