Monsoon session of Parliament from July 18: Will Triple Talaq Bill see the light of day?

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 25 June 2018, 02:36 PM
Monsoon session of Parliament to be held from July 18
Monsoon session of Parliament to be held from July 18

The monsoon session of Parliament will be held from July 18 till August 10. The session will comprise of 18 working days. During the monsoon session of Parliament, the Narendra Modi government is expected to put forth the politically significant Triple Talaq Bill in the House.

Apart from it, the Centre will also try to push for the Constitutional status for National Commission for Other Backward Castes (OBC) and Transgender Bill.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar said that the government will expect cooperation from all Opposition parties to allow the House to run smoothly.

"Government expects constructive cooperation from all the political parties to make the monsoon session of Parliament productive," Kumar said.

However, it looks highly unlikely and the Opposition Congress is likely to raise the issues of Karnataka elections where the BJP was invited to form the government despite the fact that it lacked numbers.

First Published: Monday, June 25, 2018 01:17 PM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.