Karnataka Congress MLAs MTB Nagaraj and Dr Sudhakar submit their resignations to Speaker

New Delhi , News Nation Bureau | Updated : 10 July 2019, 05:20 PM
MTB Nagraj (left) and Dr Sudhakar (right)
MTB Nagraj (left) and Dr Sudhakar (right)

In yet another setback to Congress-JDS coalition government in Karntaka, two more MLAs of the Congress - MTB Nagraj and Dr Sudhakar - have submitted their resignations to Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar. With this, the total number of MLAs who resigned from their post has gone up to 16, including independent lawmaker R Roshan Baig.

Dr Sudhakar, the lawmaker from Chikkaballapur, was said to be angry with the Kumaraswamy government after he had been removed from the post of Pollution Control Board Chairman ealier this year. He had then threatened to "stand for himself" if the high command refused to listen to him.

The 44-year old MBBS graduate, who also had a small corporate stint before joining the politics, had often showed rebelion signs by giving given blunt comments. The Karnataka Speaker has not accepted the resignation of any of the MLAs.

"I have not accepted any resignation, I can't do it overnight like that. I have given them time on 17th. I'll go through the procedure and take a decision," the Karnatka Assembly Speaker said.

A serious political crisis engulfed the southern state after 13 rebel Congress and JDS lawmakers submitted their resignations on Saturday. This turned uglier after another independent lawmaker R Roshan Baig pulled back his support and resigned from the Assembly.

While the Congress party has been alleging poaching by the BJP, the saffron party has denied any role in the happenings. However, the BJP has decided to hold a protest against the Speaker’s decision to reject the resignations of 8 MLAs by the Speaker.

First Published: Wednesday, July 10, 2019 04:38 PM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.