Uttarakhand polls: Congress releases list of candidates for 63 seats; Harish Rawat to contest from two seats

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 22 January 2017, 06:53 PM
Harish Rawat (Image: Getty)
Harish Rawat (Image: Getty)

In the wake of upcoming Uttarakhand Assembly elections, Congress on Sunday declared names of candidates for 63 seats. Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat will be contesting from two seats of Kichha and Hardwar rural.

The candidates were decided at a meeting of party’s Central Election Committee chaired by Congress president Sonia Gandhi, which met here last night.

Assembly elections in 70-member Uttarakhand Assembly is scheduled to take place on February 15.

Prominent among the candidates are state ministers Indira Hridyesh who will contest from Haldwani, Surendra Singh Negi who will contest from Kotdwar and Dinesh Aggarwal who will contest from Dharampur.

Mantri Prasad Naithani will contest from Deoprayag, Harish Chandra Durgapal from Lalkuwa while Govind Singh Kunjwal will be the Congress candidate from Jageshwar.

The contest in the state is a direct fight between Congress and BJP. While the Congress is seeking a fresh mandate on the development agenda, the BJP is also using the development plank to stage a comeback.

(With PTI inputs)

First Published: Sunday, January 22, 2017 04:18 PM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.