13 AAP MLAs nominated to BJP-led municipal corporations

New Delhi, PTI | Updated : 23 March 2015, 11:27 PM

 Thirteen AAP MLAs, including S K Bagga, the legislator from Krishna Nagar who defeated Kiran Bedi in the high-stake Assembly polls, have been nominated to the three BJP-led municipal corporations of Delhi.

Delhi Speaker Ram Niwas Goel nominated five members each to the North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) as well as the South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) while three MLAs were nominated to the East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC).

In the high-octane Delhi elections AAP had recaptured power in a stunning comeback by sweeping 67 seats in a 70-member House, reducing BJP to a humiliating tally of three seats while completely wiping out the Congress.

The MLAs for NDMC are—Imran Hussain (Ballimaran), Som Dutt (Sadar Bazar), Sukhvir Singh (Mundka), Rakhi Birla (Mangolpuri) and Rituraj Govind (Kirari), a senior official of the NDMC said today.

For SDMC, the nominated members are—Narayan Dutt Sharma (Badarpur), Parmila Tokas (R K Puram), Mahinder Yadav (Vikaspuri), Gulab Singh (Matiala) and Sahi Ram (Tughlaqabad).

For EDMC, the nominated members include MLA Bagga (Krishna Nagar), who handed a defeat to Bedi, who was the BJP’s chief ministerial candidate, in the polls.

The other two nominated members include Raju Dhinga (Trilok Puri) and Kapil Mishra (Karawal Nagar).

The nominations were made earlier this month, the official said.

The erstwhile unified Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) was trifurcated into NDMC, SDMC and EDMC in 2012.

While NDMC and SDMC are a 104-member House each, EDMC is a 64-member House.

First Published: Monday, March 23, 2015 11:25 PM
Post Comment (+)