Assembly Elections 2018: Amit Shah appoints BJP election-in-charge for poll-bound states

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 03 October 2018, 11:53 PM
Amit Shah appoints Nadda, Javadekar, Pradhan as BJP election-in-charge (File Photo)
Amit Shah appoints Nadda, Javadekar, Pradhan as BJP election-in-charge (File Photo)

As political fervour is gaining pace ahead of 2018 Assembly elections later this year, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah Wednesday appointed Union Ministers JP Nadda, Prakash Javadekar and Dharmendra Pradhan as the party's election in-charges for Telangana, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh respectively. The three states are set to go to polls along with Chhattisgarh, in the next couple of months.

BJP leader Mukul Roy, who recently quit the Trinamool Congress to join the Saffron Party has been appointed as the convenor of the Election Committee for West Bengal.

Read | Is Modi-wave still evident? Here is what Shashi Tharoor thinks

In another appointment, the BJP made Arvind Menon, who has an RSS background and was once a powerful organisational leader in Madhya Pradesh, as the party's co-in-charge for West Bengal. Party General Secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya is the in-charge for the state.

Read | BJP wary of destabilising Karnataka govt ahead of Lok Sabha elections 2019

The appointments in West Bengal showcases Shah's focus on the state, which he considers as a potential region for the party's growth in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The ruling BJP will try to ramp up their base in the eastern state of India, known to be a stronghold of the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress Party (TMCP).

First Published: Wednesday, October 03, 2018 11:35 PM
Post Comment (+)