Maharashtra-Haryana Assembly Elections

By-Elections In 17 States, Puducherry To Be Held On October 21, Results 3 Days Later

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 21 September 2019, 02:25 PM
Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora (ANI Picture)
Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora (ANI Picture)

The By-Elections to 64 constituencies across Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Assam, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, MP, Meghalaya, Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh will be held on October 21, the Election Commission announced on Saturday. Counting of votes will be held on October 24, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora said at press conference.

In Karnataka, where disqualification of 17 rebel MLAs led to collapse of HD Kumaraswamy government in July, bypolls will be held in 15 seats, he added. In Assam, where the citizens' list was published last month, by-elections will be held in four assembly constituencies.

Name of the states and the number of seats: 

Arunachal Pradesh (1)

Assam (4)

Bihar (5)

 Chhattisgarh (1)

Gujarat (4)

Himachal Pradesh (2)

Karnataka (15)

Kerala (5)

Madhya Pradesh (1)

Meghalaya (1)

Rajasthan (2)

Sikkim (3)

Tamil Nadu (2)

Telangana (1)

Uttar Pradesh (11)

During the media briefing, the Election Commission also announced the Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly polls dates. According to the dates announced by the commission, both Haryana and Maharashtra will go to polls on October 21.

While the term of 288-member Maharashtra assembly ends on November 9, that of the 90-member Haryana assembly expires on November 2

First Published: Saturday, September 21, 2019 12:48 PM
Post Comment (+)