Congress leader Raj Babbar, BJP’s Amar Shankar Sable take oath in Rajya Sabha

New Delhi, PTI | Updated : 17 March 2015, 01:32 PM

Congress leader Raj Babbar and BJP’s Amar Shankar Sable were among three newly-elected members who took oath in Rajya Sabha today.

Babbar, who was elected to the Upper House from Uttarakhand, took oath in Hindi and was warmly greeted by members from across the political spectrum.

With his family including brother watching from the Visitors’ Gallery, Babbar was greeted with warm hugs from several leaders during a brief adjournment, Sable, who was elected from Maharashtra, took oath in Marathi while Dola Sen (TMC), elected from West Bengal, took oath in Bengali.

Chairman Hamid Ansari greeted the members with a “welcome”.

First Published: Tuesday, March 17, 2015 01:30 PM
Post Comment (+)