Five elected unopposed to J&K Legislative Council

Jammu, PTI | Updated : 21 February 2015, 07:07 PM

Three PDP and two BJP candidates were elected unopposed to Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council today, the last day of the withdrawal of the candidature.

“Five candidates, of them three from PDP and two from BJP, have been elected unopposed,” Returning Officer M Ramzan said.

He said that Chering Dorjay (BJP), Anayat Ali (PDP), Yasir Reshi (PDP), Sofi Yousaf (BJP) and Firdous Ahmed Tak (PDP) were elected unopposed.

BJP candidate Drakshan Andrabi withdrew her candidature, he said.

“The elections will now take place for two seats (Kashmir Province) and four seats (Jammu Province) on March 2 next,” he said.

First Published: Saturday, February 21, 2015 06:44 PM
Post Comment (+)