News Nation Logo

Bypoll Result Highlights: BJP wins Jind in Haryana, Congress grabs Ramgarh in Rajasthan

The By-election To Both The Constituencies Has Been Dubbed As A Prestige Battle For The BJP And The Congress Ahead Of The Parliamentary And Assembly Polls Later In The Year.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 31 Jan 2019, 06:21:52 PM
Jind, Ramgarh assembly bypoll results Highlights:

Jind, Ramgarh assembly bypoll results Highlights:

New Delhi:

The counting of votes for high-stakes Jind bypoll and Rajasthan Assembly Election in Ramgarh constituency has taken up at 8 am on Thursday. The bypoll in Jind was necessitated following the death of INLD MLA Hari Chan Middha. This time the party has fielded Umed Redhu to retain the seat. Krishna Middha, the son of late INLD MLA Hari Chand Middha is the BJP's candidate for the election. Congress has fielded its prominent leader and national spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala to fight the prestige battle with the BJP. The contest is also important for the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) which was formed after a split in the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) last December. The JJP has put its weight behind Digvijay Chautala, the younger son of jailed leader Ajay Singh Chautala, to contest the election. As many as twenty-one candidates including two women are in the fray.

In Ramgarh, the election was deferred following the death of BSP candidate Laxman Singh a few days before the December 7 Rajasthan Assembly polls. Twenty candidates, including two women, are in the fray. The BSP has fielded former union minister Natwar Singh's son and former MLA Jagat Singh, while former Alwar Zila Pramukh Shafia Zubair Khan is contesting as Congress candidate. Sukhwant Singh is contesting on a BJP ticket in the constituency.

Here are the Highlights on Jind and Ramgarh assembly bypoll results:

Congress candidate Randeep Singh Surjewala on Jind bypoll result: I hope Manohar Lal Khattar and Krishna Middha ji will fulfil the dreams of the people of Jind. I was given a responsibility by the party which I fulfilled to the best of my abilities, I congratulate Krishna Middha ji.

BJP candidate Krishna Middha wins by over 12,000 votes, Congress alleges EVM tampering.

Jind bypoll results: BJP workers are celebrating outside Krishna Middha's office as he takes a massive lead by over 15,000 votes. However, the official result is yet to be declared.

Jind by-poll trends: BJP leading with 46916 votes, Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) 30956 votes, Congress 19611 votes at the end of the 11th round of counting.

After chaos and lathicharge, counting of votes resumes in Jind.

As chaos erupts near Jind counting Centre, police lathicharge protesting workers.

Counting has been stopped for Jind by-elections. The Congress and the JJP alleged irregularities in 2-3 EVMs.

"I'm happy that people took a well meditated step. They've taken right decision. I thank them&express my gratitude. They've given a message at a time when it was much needed. It'll encourage the party ahead of Lok Sabha election," says Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot after the Congress andidate's victory in Ramgarh bypoll.

Jind assembly by-elections: BJP leading by 10,103 votes at the end of 6th round.

Jind by-poll trends: BJP leading with 21052 votes at the end of fifth round of counting. Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) 15315 votes, Congress 8813 votes.

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar expresses confidence over the BJP's victory in Jind Assembly bypoll.

Congress hits the century mark in Rajasthan, wins Ramgarh by 12,228 votes. The final number of votes is as follows: Congress: 83311 votes, BJP: 71,083, BSP: 24,156.

Ramgarh assembly by-elections: 19th round counting ends. Congress is leading by 9724 votes. The number of votes is as follows - Congress:78413 BJP: 68689 BSP: 23745.

Ramgarh assembly bypoll: After the 18th round, Congress bags 74399 votes, leading by 9373 votes. BJP and BSP get 65,026 and 23,431 votes respectively.

Jind bypoll results: After the fourth round of counting, BJP dethrones JJP, leading by 2038 votes.

Ramgarh Assembly bypoll: After the 17th round of counting, Congress is leading by 13,940 votes. The vote count is as follows: Congress: 72274, BJP: 58,334, BSP: 23,215.

Ramgarh Assembly bypoll: At the end of 16th round, Congress garners 69283 votes, leading by 15296 votes. BJP and BSP bagged 53,987 and 22,927 votes respectively.

Jind bypoll results:  At the end of the third round, Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) leading with 11226 votes. BJP 9350 votes, Congress 5813 votes, Loktantra Suraksha Party (LSP) 2649 votes and Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) 1760 votes.

Ramgarh by-election results: At the end of the 13th round of counting, Congress leading with a margin of 16221 votes.

Ramgarh by-election results: Congress leading with 60,283 votes after 13 rounds.

Jind by-election results: After the third round of counting, Congress dethrones BJP to claim the second spot. JJP taking a comfortable lead with 3334 votes.

Congress widens the gap in Ramgarh, takes a comfortable lead with 57216 votes.

Jind by-election trends: Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) leading with 7892 votes at the end of second round of counting. BJP 6554 votes, Congress 3923 votes and Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) 1365 votes.

Ramgarh Assembly bypolls: After 10th round of counting, Congress takes a massive lead with 46,556 votes. BJP and BSP are at second and third place with 37,236 and 9164 votes respectively.

After the 8th round of counting, Congress is leading with 
42160 votes in Ramgarh.

Jind bypoll results: After the second round of counting the JJP is leading with 4253 votes. The BJP, Congress and INLD are at second, third and fourth spot respectively.

Ramgarh Assembly bypoll results: After the 7th round of counting, Congress is leading with 12,601 votes. BJP and BSP are trailing with 24899 and 5522.

Jind by-election trends: Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) leading with 3639 votes, BJP 2835 votes, Congress 2169 votes, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) 992 votes.

After the 6th round of counting, Congress leading with 12936 votes in Ramgarh.

Jind bypoll results: JJP's Digvijay Chautala leading by 804 votes.

Randeep Surjewala Trailing at Position 3 in Jind by-elections. BJP Candidate Leading. Digvijay Chautala (JJP) Number 2: Reports.

In Rajasthan’s Ramgarh, Congress is leading with 9773 votes, BJP and BSP trail with 7094 and 1005 votes, reports ANI.


Congress's Randeep Surjewala and Jannayak Janata Party's Digvijay Chautala present at the counting centre in Jind.

Congress's Randeep Singh Surjewala and Jannayak Janata Party (JJP)'s Digvijay Chautala are present at the counting centre in Haryana's Jind as counting of votes has started.

Counting of votes for Jind assembly seat by-election begins.

Rajasthan: Counting of votes for Ramgarh assembly seat begins.

Counting of votes for Jind assembly seat by-election to begin shortly amid tight security.

All eyes will be on Jagat Singh, who is the BSP candidate from Ramgarh. Singh Joined the Mayawati-led party after he was denied ticket by the BJP.

A victory in Ramgarh constituency will help the Congress touch 100 in the 200-member Rajasthan Assembly, reducing its dependence on support from other non-BJP parties.

In Rajasthan’s Ramgarh, a total of 2.35 lakh voters cast their votes, registering a voter turnout of 79.04 per cent on Monday.

The high-stake election is considered a referendum on the Manohar Lal Khattar government and also a semi-final ahead of the Lok Sabha elections 2019.

The by-election to Haryana's Jind assembly constituency recorded 75.72 per cent voter turnout on Monday.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 31 Jan 2019, 07:23:27 AM
Next Story