Karnataka Assembly Polls: Voting on May 12, results on May 15

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 27 March 2018, 01:38 PM
 Election Commission - File Photo
Election Commission - File Photo

The Election Commission on Tuesday announced the poll dates for the upcoming Karnataka Assembly elections. The voting for the assembly elections shall be held on May 12 and the counting shall happen on May 15. 

The Election Commission announced that the elections in the state will be held in a single phase.

The term of the current 224-member legislative Assembly ends on May 28. The elections in the South Indian state is due to be conducted in late April or early May. As per sources, the elections in Karnataka can be held in two phases.

The elections would once again see the BJP take on its traditional rival Congress, which has been in power in the state. After BJP came to power in the Centre in 2014, it has won in states like Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Assam and Manipur by reducing the Congress to just four states.

Suggested Read | Amit Shah goofs up in Karnataka, calls BJP's Yeddyurappa 'most corrupt CM'

Live updates from Election Commission's press conference:

#11:40 am The Election Commission announced that the elections in the state will be held in a single phase.

#11:30 am Voting to be held on May 12, counting of votes on May 15 - CEC OP Rawat

#11:25 am Candidates cannot spend more than Rs 28 lakh while campaigning - CEC OP Rawat

#11:22 am The use of loudspeakers will be regulated - CEC OP Rawat

#11:20 am Election Commission has mandated parties to use eco-friendly items while campaigning for the Karnataka Assembly election.

#11:15 am Karnataka Assembly elections will see 56,696 polling stations, an increase of almost 9 per cent compared to the last election  - Election Commision

#11:15 am The model code of conduct comes into effect immediately - Election Commision

#11:10 am Karnataka Assembly election will see special arrangements being made for women - CEC OP Rawat

#11:10 am More than 450 voting stations will be managed by all-woman staff - CEC OP Rawat

#11:05 am 4.96 crore voters in Karnataka - CEC OP Rawat

#11:00 am  Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat is now speaking at the press conference in New Delhi.

First Published: Tuesday, March 27, 2018 09:21 AM
Post Comment (+)