PP Varma next Chief Secretary of Assam: Gogoi

Guwahati, PTI | Updated : 15 June 2013, 05:16 PM

Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi on Saturday said he has appointed Additional Chief Secretary Prem Prasad Varma as the next Chief Secretary with effect from July 1, 2013.

The incumbent Naba Kumar Das, a 1976 batch IAS officer, will retire on June 30, Gogoi said

"I have already appointed Varma. Today I am making it public. He will take charge after Das retires on the last day of this month," the Chief Minister told reporters here.

Varma, a 1978 batch IAS officer, is currently the Additional Chief Secretary, Health and Family Welfare, Social Welfare and Public Health Engineering Departments.

First Published: Saturday, June 15, 2013 05:11 PM
Post Comment (+)