News Nation Logo

Ramgarh bypoll results: Congress hits a century mark in Rajasthan Assembly, wins by over 12,000 votes

The Congress' Victory In Ramgarh Is Significant As It Reduced The Party's Dependence On Support From Other Non-BJP Parties, Including The SP And The BSP In The Rajasthan Assembly.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 31 Jan 2019, 01:52:53 PM
Ramgarh bypoll results: Congress hits a century mark in Rajasthan (File Photo)

Ramgarh bypoll results: Congress hits a century mark in Rajasthan (File Photo)

New Delhi:

The ruling Congress on Thursday hit the century mark in the 200-member strong Rajasthan Assembly with a win in the crucial Ramgarh constituency by 12,228 votes. While Congress candidate Shafia Zubair garnered a total of 83311 votes, BJP's Sukhwant Singh has been relegated to the second spot with 71,083 votes.

The BSP, on the other hand, managed to get 24,156 votes to claim the third spot in Ramgarh constituency. The party had put its weight behind former union minister Natwar Singh's son and former MLA Jagat Singh. All eyes were on Singh as he joined the Mayawati-led party after he was denied a BJP ticket ahead of the Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2018.

Expressing his happiness over the Congress's victory in the by-poll, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot said the results will encourage the party ahead of the Lok Sabha elections. He also thanked people for taking the 'right decision' and extended his gratitude.

Right after her victory Congress candidate Shafia Zubair Khan also addressed the media and said, "people know that we believe in working".

The Congress' victory in Ramgarh is significant as it reduced the party's dependence on support from other non-BJP parties, including the SP and the BSP in the Rajasthan Assembly.

As many as 20 candidates contested the Ramgarh election on January 28. A total of 2.35 lakh people cast their votes, registering a voter turnout of 79.04 per cent on the polling day.

The election to the assembly seat could not be held along with other constituencies due to the death of BSP candidate Laxman Singh ahead of the Rajasthan Assembly elections on December 7.

In 2013 Assembly elections, Ramgarh was won by the BJP. Talking about the recently concluded 2018 Assembly polls, the Congress won 99 seats, RLD one, BJP 73, BSP six, RLTP three, and CPI (M) and BTP two each, and 13 independents emerged victorious in Rajasthan.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 31 Jan 2019, 12:20:22 PM
Next Story