Nation View: NIA special court acquits all five accused in 2007 Mecca Masjid blasts

Updated On : 16 Apr,2018 | 21:33 PM
Nation View: The special court set up by the National Investigation Agency (NIA) on Monday acquitted all the five accused, including Swami Assemanand, a right-wing Hindu ideologue, who was allegedly involved in the 2007 Mecca Masjid blasts case. The court, giving its verdict, said, “Evidence against the accused is not satisfactory.” The accused in the case were Swamy Aseemanand, Lokesh Sharma, Rajendra Chowdhary, Tejram Parmar, Amith Chowhan and former RSS workers Sandeep Dange, Ramchandra Kalsangra, Devendra Gupta and Sunil Joshi. Meanwhile, two accused, Dange and Kalsangra, are still on the run. The Mecca Masjid blasts pertain to bomb blast on May 18, 2007 during Friday prayers in the Hyderabad masjid which killed nine people and injured 58 others.

More Videos