ICC U19 World Cup: Indians rule roost in team of tournament; Shaw, Gill, Kalra, Nagakoti, Roy make the cut

05 February 2018, 01:29 PM
Manjot Kalra - File Photo
Manjot Kalra - File Photo

A day after winning their fourth Under 19 World Cup title, five members of the Indian team's winning squad were rewarded with a place in ICC's team of the tournament.

South Africa's Raynard Van Tonder has been named as the captain of the side which is represented by players from four other countries - India, New Zealand, Pakistan, and Afghanistan.

Van Tonder, who set the tournament abalze his World Cup campaign with a blistering 143 against Kenya, compiled a hat-trick of single-digit scores before returning to form in the last two games. The reason behind choosing Van Tonder, however, as the skipper of the side is purely for his 'better cricket acumen' the ICC said, in its release.

India's batting trio of Prithvi Shaw, Manjot Kalra and Shubman Gill, who all struck good form with the bat were well rewarded by earning the top three batting slots 1, 2 & 3 in the playing eleven chart. The Kiwi number three Finn Allen grabbed the fourth spot having made 338 runs, which includes a century and two fifties, in the tournament.

Qais Ahmad of Afghanistan and Ankul Roy of India were the only spinners to earn a spot in the playing eleven. While Kamlesh Nagarkoti (India), Gerald Coetzee (South Africa) and Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan), formed the pace attack bagging the spots eight, nine and eleven respectively.

Wandile Makwetu, who had a splendid time behind the stumps and the arguably the best gloveman of the tournament, was fittingly named as the wicket-keeper of the side, batting at number six just beneath his captain van Tonder. Windies all-rounder Alick Athanaze, for his outstanding show with the bat - two fifties and two centuries, has been marked as the 12th man of the side.

ICC Team of the year: Prithvi Shaw (India), Manjot Kalra (India), Shubman Gill (India), Finn Allen (New Zealand), Raynard van Tonder (South Africa, captain), Wandile Makwetu (wicket-keeper) (South Africa), Anukul Roy (India), Kamlesh Nagarkoti (India), Gerald Coetzee (South Africa), Qais Ahmad (Afghanistan), Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan).

First Published: Monday, February 05, 2018 01:23 PM
For all the latest Sports News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.