IND vs PAK World Cup 2019

India versus West Indies: Umesh, Bumrah, Kuldeep rested for third T20

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 09 November 2018, 12:03 PM
India versus West Indies: Umesh, Bumrah, Kuldeep rested for third T20
India versus West Indies: Umesh, Bumrah, Kuldeep rested for third T20

Indian pacers Umesh Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah and spinner Kuldeep Yadav have been rested for the third T20 against West Indies. Instead, Punjab seamer Siddarth Kaul was included in the squad for the final T20I to be held at the MA Chidambaram on Sunday. This comes ahead of India's tour to Australia that begins on November 21.

ALSO READ | IIT-Roorkee scientists develop nano-material that destroys cancer cells

The Indian team members are likely to arrive in the city on Saturday.

"The Indian team management has decided to rest Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav from the upcoming third Paytm T20I against the Windies in Chennai," BCCI acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary said in a release.

"The decision has been made to allow the trio to be in the best physical condition ahead of India's tour to Australia.

"The All-India Senior Selection Committee has added Siddarth Kaul to India's squad for the final T20I."

In the two games, Kuldeep picked up five wickets, including 3 for 13 at Kolkata while Bumrah took three wickets.

Umesh was left out of the playing XI in the second match after the series opener.

Kaul, who made his T20I debut against Ireland in Dublin in June, has so far figured in two matches.

ALSO READ | 'Sarkar' makers to remove controversial parts after protests: Report

India has already sealed the T20 series by winning the first two matches in Kolkata and Lucknow respectively.  India begins its tour of Australia with the opening T20I at Brisbane on November 21.

India's squad for the 3rd T20: 

  1. Rohit Sharma (c) 
  2. Shikhar Dhawan 
  3. KL Rahul 
  4. Dinesh Karthik (wk) 
  5. Manish Pandey 
  6. Shreyas Iyer 
  7. Rishabh Pant (wk) 
  8. Krunal Pandya 
  9. Washington Sundar 
  10. Yuzvendra Chahal 
  11. Bhuvneshwar Kumar 
  12. Khaleel Ahmed 
  13. Shahbaz Nadeem 
  14. Siddarth Kaul

(With PTI inputs)

First Published: Friday, November 09, 2018 12:02 PM
For all the latest Sports News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.