Ind vs SA 6th ODI: Virat Kohli's stellar ton helps India thump South Africa in Centurion ODI, seal series 5-1

16 February 2018, 11:39 PM
LIVE| Ind vs SA 6th ODI: Men in Blue look to wrap up series on a high note (Source- ICC's Twitter)
LIVE| Ind vs SA 6th ODI: Men in Blue look to wrap up series on a high note (Source- ICC's Twitter)

India defeated South Africa by eight wickets in the last match of the six-match series played on Super Sport Park ground on Friday. With the easy victory, Virat Kohli and team clinched the series 5-1. 

Earlier, India won the toss and chose to bowl first and the Indian bowlers didn’t disappoint the captain. The Indian bowling attack led by Shardul Thakur and Chahal decimated the Proteas batsman and restricted them to 204 runs in 46.5 overs.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli was the star performer of the match and dominated the South African bowlers, in particular Imran Tahir. The right-hand batsman led from the front and scored his 35th ODI century to help India win the Centurion ODI.

Kohli scored 129 not out from 96 balls and smashed 19 fours and two sixes.

Lungi Nagiri was the sole South African bowler who could do some early damage to the Indian batting order. The seamer took two wickets for his team which failed to perform well. 

Talking about the South African innings, Khaya Jondo scored 54 while AB de Villiers contributed 30 runs to the team’s tally.

Shardul Thakur who replaced Bhuvneshwar Kumar scalped four crucial wickets and sent early jitters to Proteas. Yuzvendra Chahal and Jaspreet Bumrah took two-two wickets each. Hardik Pandya and Kuldeep Yadav also chipped in with one wicket each.

SCORECARD of India vs South Africa 6th ODI at SuperSport Park, Centurion:

Match Highlights

#Virat Kohli and team will now look to perform well in the upcoming three match T-20 series starting from February 18. Don't miss to catch all the LIVE updates on

#You need to check some amazing facts about the Indian skipper

#Virat Kohli has been declared the 'Man of the Match' and 'Man of the series'

#Virat Kohli SMASHES a four off Imran Tahir's ball to secure the victory runs for India

#Rahane joins the party, hits a four to take India to 202/2 after 32 overs

#India 196/2 after 32 overs, 9 run aways from win

#Virat Kohli SMASHES two-back-to-back sixes off Imran Tahir's ball sending the fans into tizzy

#9500 ODI runs at a staggering average of almost 58, Virat Kohli is redefining batting excellence

#India 170/2 after 32 overs. 35 runs away from victory

#Virat Kohli completes his 35th ODI century

#India 130/2 after 20 overs, 75 runs away from victory

#Virat Kohli has the highest ODI average among all international batsman from Test playing nation

#India 118/2 after 18 overs

#Virat Kohli is on a roll, completes his 47th ODI half century

#Shikhar Dhawan departs for 18, India lose second wicket

#Lungi Ngidi SCALPS Dhawan

#India 80/1 after 12 overs

#South Africa have given 40 runs in the last five overs

#India 41/1 after seven overs

#Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan are at crease, 

#India 20/1 after four overs

#Rohit Sharma once again unable to maintain the momentum

#Lungi Ngidi DISMISSES Rohit Sharma who departs for 15, India lose first wicket

#Rohit Sharma HITS a four in style in Morne Morkel's over

#Rohit Sharma SMASHES two back to back fours in style, India 9/0 after first over 

#Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma open the innings for India

#Shardul Thakur is the highest wicket taker for team India. The young bowler scapled four crucial wickets

#India need 205 runs to win the final ODI and clinch series 5-1

#Lack of good partnerships resulted in the poor show of the Proteas

#Shardul SCALPS Phehlukwayo to end South African innings at 204

#Phehlukwayo SMASHES two back to back sixes to take South Africa's score to over 200

#Shardul Thakur comes back into the attack

#BYE-BYE!! Jasprit Bumrah STRIKES Imran Tahir, South Africa lose ninth wicket

#South Africa 191/8 after 45 overs, five more overs to go

#Imran Tahir comes to the crease

#OUT!! Hardik Pandya DISMISSES Morne Morkel, South Africa lose eighth wicket

#South Africa 166/7 after 41 overs

#Morne Morkel is given NOT OUT

#Yuzvendra Chahal appeals for LBW against Morne Morkel, South Africa opts for a review

#South Africa 158/7 after 38 overs. Can the Proteas complete 200 runs?

#OUT!! Chahal SCALPS Khaya Zondo who goes out for 54, South Africa lose seventh wicket

#Proteas 147/6 after 36 overs

#South Africa in deep trouble, lose three wickets in quick succession 

#Jasprit Bumrah STRIKES Heinrich Klaasen; South Africa lose fourth wicket

#Heinrich Klaasen and Khaya Zondo anchor South African innings, take score to 134/3 after 30 overs 

#South Africa 117/3 after 26 overs

#Indian bowlers are trying to maintain the pressure

#OUT!! Yuzvendra Chahal DISMISSES AB de Villiers who goes out for 30 runs; South Africa 106/3 after 21 overs

#Khaya Zonda is on a roll, HITS two sixes in Chahal's over to take South Africa's core to 100/2 in 19 overs

#It's time for drinks break

#South Africa 88/2 after 18 overs

#South Africa 72/2 after 17 overs

#Proteas 59/2 after 15 overs

#South Africa complete 50 runs in 12.1 overs

#Khaya Zondo comes to the crease

#Shardul Thakur is on a roll, gives early jitters to South Africa

#OUT!! Shardul STRIKES Aiden Markram 

#Hardik Pandya comes into the attack to bowl the ninth over

#Proteas 27/1 after seven overs

#South Africa lose first wicket, Hashim Amla departs for 10

#OUT!! Shardul Thakur STRIKES Amla

#South Africa 18/0 after five overs

#Markram and Amla opt for a cautitious start against the Indian bowlers

#Proteas 9/0 after two overs

#South Africa 8/0 after first over

#Markram hits another four 

#Aiden Markram SMASHES a four off the second ball of the first over

#Shardul Thakur leads the bowling attack for India

#Aiden Markram and Hashim Amla start the innings for South Africa

#The players are out for national anthem, game will commence soon

#India have won the toss and elected to bowl first

#We welcome you to the live match updates on



Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur

South Africa

Playing XI: Aiden Markram (c), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Farhaan Behardien, Khaya Zondo,Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel

First Published: Friday, February 16, 2018 03:57 PM
For all the latest Sports News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.