Sports Contest

Pakistan takes on Australia in crucial 4th ODI at Sydney, Hosts off to a quick start

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 22 January 2017, 09:32 AM
Steven Smith
Steven Smith

Pakistan is playing Australia in fourth One-Day International (ODI) at Sydney’s SCG. Australia have won the toss and elected to bat first.  

Azhar Ali is back as Pakistan ODI captain after replacing Asad Shafiq.

For Australia Mitchell Starc replaces Billy Stanlake and Adam Zampa, the highest wicket-taker of 2016 ODIs, has replaced James Faulkner.

This series is turning out to be closely fought contest between Australia and Pakistan. Currently Australia is leading the five match ODI series by 2-1.

Aussies won the first match at Brisbane with a handsome margin of 92 runs. In the second ODI Pakistan made a comeback and registered victory over host by six wickets at MCG in Perth.

Hosts then won the third ODI by seven wickets at WACA, Perth to lead the series by 2-1.

Now the contest is going on in Sydney where it is necessary for Pakistan to win. Australia will be eager to win the fourth ODI and claim the series.

Team for fourth ODI between Pakistan vs Australia are as follows

Pakistan: Azhar Ali (c), Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Aamer, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan.

Australia: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Steven Smith (c), Travis Head, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade (wk), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

First Published: Sunday, January 22, 2017 09:21 AM

Related Tags:

For all the latest Sports News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.