India’s Decision Review System has been mixed in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 with some dismissals going with the team and some against. During the 12th over of Bangladesh’s chase of 315 at Edgbaston on Tuesday, Shami bowled round the wicket to Soumya Sarkar and he was rapped on the pads. India appealed for an LBW and the umpire, Marais Erasmus did not give it out. After thinking about it, Kohli decided to go for the review. Replays suggested that the ball was missing the bat slightly as it hit the pad. Real-Time Snicko showed a spike when the ball was near the pad. Aleem Dar, the third umpire, said there was an inside edge and India lost the review.
This did not go down well with Kohli who argued with the umpire over why the review should be lost when there was no bat involved. The third umpire had deemed there was an inside edge and replays suggested that the ball was just hitting the stumps which would have still gone with umpire’s call. According to the on-air commentators, umpire Dar had revealed that he was not sure. However, Sarkar fell four overs later as he smashed a short ball to short extra cover off Hardik Pandya to depart for 33.
This was not the first time Kohli had argued with the umpires over DRS. During the clash against Afghanistan at the Rose Bowl, in the third over when India was desperately looking for a wicket and Mohammad Shami bowled a full and straight length delivery to Hazratullah Zazai that seems to have caught him right in front and the Indian players appealed straightaway which was turned down by Aleem Dar. But Kohli's men reviewed the on-field decision and went upstairs. However, India lost the lone review as the impact was outside leg.
Seeing this, Kohli wasn't looking pleased and he straightaway went to umpire Richard Illingworth. Zazai failed to add much to the total as he was sent back by Shami in seventh over for mere 10 runs. This will raise a new controversy as Bangladesh are fighting to stay alive in the race for the playoffs while India needs just a win to qualify for the playoffs.
This is not the first time that controversy has hit India vs Bangladesh World Cup clash. In 2015, during the quarterfinal clash in Melbourne, Rohit Sharma was caught by a high full toss but the umpire had given it out when it was a marginal decision regarding the height. The signalling of the no-ball had incensed Bangladesh's fans so much that they raised a big issue on social media.