Was Rohit Sharma Out or Not Out? - Dodgy DRS call dominates India vs West Indies encounter

New Delhi , News Nation Bureau | Updated : 27 June 2019, 04:40 PM
Rohit Sharma gets out on 18 against West Indies at Old Trafford (Image Credit: Twitter)
Rohit Sharma gets out on 18 against West Indies at Old Trafford (Image Credit: Twitter)
HIGHLIGHTS
    • Rohit Sharma has scored most runs for India in 2019 World Cup. 
    • Virat Kohli has scored four centuries in last six games against West Indies. 
    • West Indies need to win against India to stay in contention for semi-finals. 

The 34th encounter of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 between India and West Indies at Old Trafford in Manchester started off on a dramatic note with Rohit Sharma's dismissal making all sorts of controversies. Batting first, the Indian team was off to a decent start with both KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma applying themselves beautifully.

In the initial overs, the duo was able to score five runs an over to set the pace well.  However, in the sixth over, Rohit Sharma, who seem to be quiet till then, opened his arms and went after West Indies speedster Kemar Roach and smashed him for a six and four and it looked that momentum is with India. 

However, on the last ball of the over, Kemar bowled a good length delivery and there was a noise as it went past the bat and West Indies reviewed it. The soft signal from the on field umpire was 'not-out' and third umpire needed a conclusive evidence to change the decision. The ball was pitched on a hard length and jagged back sharply into the right hander. From a distance, it looked, there was a gap between bat and pad, and the ball must have snaked through that. However, the third umpire Michael Gough said it's bat which left Indian fans bewildered.

Eventually, the onfield umpire had to change his decision and Rohit Sharma, who looked good for his 18 runs had to take a long walk back to the pavilion. As he walked back, he had a little smile on his face and appeared that he doesn't think there was an inside edge.

Seeing the gravity of the dismissal, the broadcasters showed it on big screen a quite some time, and people around the world got an opportunity to see it closely. The highlight on the dismissal clearly showed that there was a slight inside edge and it hit bat and then pad. In the end, it was a right decision by the third umpire. 

First Published: Thursday, June 27, 2019 04:09 PM
For all the latest Sports News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.