Hazlewood, Starc in Australia team for second Test

Brisbane, PTI | Updated : 16 December 2014, 10:31 AM

Young fast bowler Josh Hazlewood is set to make his long-awaited debut, while left-arm pacer Mitchell Starc too have been recalled as Australia today named their team for the second cricket Test against India starting at the Gabba here tomorrow.

Australia will have a new-look pace attack as Hazlewood and Starc will replace injured Ryan Harris and Peter Siddle, who was dropped from the side that won the first Test by 48 runs in Adelaide on Saturday.

“I think this pitch will suit Josh perfectly,” New skipper Steven Smith said while announcing the team on the eve of the second Test.

“He’s very skilful for his age and I’m just looking forward to seeing him zing a few through and bowl with that extra bit of pace and bounce as well.”

The 25-year-old Smith, who was anointed as the 45th Australia Test captain yesterday, will bat at number four replacing Clarke’s regular position.

Shaun Marsh, who was named in place of Clarke after he was ruled out of the four-Test series following a right hamstring injury, will come into the Australian batting line-up at number five.

It will also be an opportunity for Shaun Marsh to play alongwith his younger brother Mitchell in the Australia Test side for the first time.

In the bowling attack, Starc, who has taken 43 wickets in 13 Tests at 35.34, and Mitchell Johnson will give Australia two left-arm fast bowlers to handle the new-ball.

The 23-year-old Hazlewood, who had some strong performances in ODIs against South Africa last month, was in the squad for the Adelaide Test but was not picked.

A green-top awaits the two teams at the Gabba which is expected to give assistance to pacers and Smith said the lively wicket was one of the reasons behind the inclusion of Hazlewood and Starc.

“I think that’s part of the reason why Mitchell Starc and John Hazlewood have been included in the team, that’s for sure,” he said.

“It is traditionally a fast and bouncy wicket and it looks no different for this Test match.”

Australia: David Warner, Chris Rogers, Shane Watson, Steve Smith ©, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

First Published: Tuesday, December 16, 2014 10:29 AM
Post Comment (+)