Sachin Tendulkar, the legendary Indian batsman, on Thursday won millions of thumbs up online for his witty response to the International Cricket Council (ICC)'s attempt to troll him for one of his recent videos on Twitter. Taking to the micro-blogging site, the master blaster had last week, posted a mind-boggling clip, where he could be seen practicing at the nets along with his former teammate and childhood friend Vinod Kambli at the Tendulkar-Middlesex Global Academy camp in Navi Mumbai.
"Felt great to be back in the nets with @vinodkambli349 during the @tendulkarmga lunch break! It sure took us back to our childhood days at Shivaji Park... 🏏 Very few people know that Vinod & I have always been in the same team and never played against each other. #TMGA," Tendulkar captioned the video.
While the 58-second-long video, showing Tendulkar bowling his trademark leg spin to Kambli, left many a cricket fans nostalgic, the ICC noticed that the little master was clearly overstepping during the practice and, therefore, chose to pull his leg for the gaffe. "Watch your front foot, @sachin_rt ??," the ICC wrote with a picture of former umpire Steve Bucknor signalling the no-ball.
Meanwhile, in a tongue-in-cheek response, the batting great on Thursday wrote, "At least this time I am bowling and not batting 😋 .. umpire’s decision is always the final decision☝🏻".
At least this time I am bowling and not batting 😋 .. umpire’s decision is always the final decision. ☝🏻— Sachin Tendulkar (@sachin_rt) May 15, 2019
Since then, social media has been flooded with a laughing riot, with many of Tendulkar’s fans dubbing his reply as classy as his strikes at the crease. While some of them mocked Bucknor in a lighter vein, others claimed that the 'God of Cricket' can hit sixers even when he is bowling.
Stev & ICC 🤐 run out on noball by CRICKET LEGEND "SACHIN TENDULKAR" "👍"😘😆😋🤣😂 https://t.co/1xn1NdZadg— NIKHIL ALMALKAR # TEN @ 1985 (@TenNikhil) May 16, 2019
Straight drive , no need to run— kumar (@kumar45481309) May 15, 2019
🔥Epic one #GodOfCricket 🤣🤣lol— Maddy Ro45💙 (@singlemaddy) May 15, 2019
Same class...same style sir 🙏🙏👏👏🇮🇳🇮🇳🇮🇳— abhinavg (@abhinavguptak1) May 15, 2019
You have proved @sachin_rt that you can hit Sixers even when you are bowling— Atul C Vetkar (@atulvetkar) May 16, 2019
The relation between Tendulkar and Bucknor is well known, given to the fact that the master blaster had fallen to a number of umpiring howlers during his 24 years of glittering cricket career. The last time when Tendulkar became a victim of controversial umpiring call by Bucknor was during his 99th Test at Eden Gardens against Pakistan in 2005. These decisions had led to a huge uproar in the cricket-crazy India at that time.
Tendulkar, who made his international debut at the age of 16 in 1989, amassed 34,357 international runs. He remains the leading scorer in Tests and ODIs with 15,921 and 18,426 runs respectively.