Sri Lanka rest big guns for final ODI against Proteas

Colombo, PTI | Updated : 30 July 2013, 02:01 PM

Having taken an unbeatable 3-1 led in the five-match ODI series against South Africa, Sri Lanka on Tuesday decided to rest the senior troika of Mahela Jayawardene, Lasith Malinga and Rangana Herath from the final match on Tuesday.

Uncapped players Vimukthi Perera and Chaturanga de Silva have been drafted in while out-of-form opening batsman Kusal Janith Perera has been presented with another opportunity, replacing Upul Tharanga.

Vimukthi Perera, 23 is a left-arm medium pacer while Chaturanga de Silva is a left-handed all-rounder who bowls slow left-arm spin.

Sri Lanka have taken the lead in the series, continuing of South Africa's poor ODI run on Sri Lankan soil since 1993.

The squad: Angelo Mathews (Captain), Dinesh Chandimal (vice-Captain), T M Dilshan, Kusal Janith Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Perera, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal Shaminda Eranga, Vimukthi Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Dimuth Karunaratne, Chathuranga de Silva.

First Published: Tuesday, July 30, 2013 01:58 PM
Post Comment (+)
News Nation IOS News Nation Android