IBL announces 11th players of five teams

New Delhi, PTI | Updated : 02 August 2013, 09:00 PM

The Indian Badminton League (IBL) on Friday announced the names of Under-19 players for five of its franchises, in addition to those players picked up at the auction.

According to IBL rules, each franchise had to pick an India Under-19 player, who will be the 11th player in the respective squads.

Mumbai Masters have named Harsheel Dani, ranked No.2 in the Under-19 boys singles category as their 11th player for the IBL 2013. Dani was the winner of the U-19 boys singles title in the National championship held in Imphal.

Krrish Delhi Smashers have included Utkarsh Arora, gold medallist in boys singles and bronze medallist in the team event in the 2012 National School Games held in Pune.

Pune Pistons have selected Revathi Devasthale, the five-time Maharashtra captain and state under-17 singles winner twice.

Hyderabad Hotshots have enlisted C Rahul Yadav, 16, who was the Sub-Junior National Champion 2012. Yadav is currently ranked No.2 in Under-17 and No.4 in Under-19.

Banga Beats have selected Daniel Farid, winner of the U-17 All India Junior ranking tournament 2013 at FNCC, Hyderabad. Farid was the bronze medallist in the U-15 in ANA Asian Badminton Championship 2011.

The sixth franchisee, Awadhe Warriors (from Lucknow), is in the process of finalising their 11th player and the name will be announced shortly.

The players were chosen by each franchisee from their catchment area. After zeroing in on the final player of their respective team, the franchises then informed IBL Governing Council on their final choices.


• Mumbai Masters - Harsheel Dani
• Krrish Delhi Smashers - Utkarsh Arora
• Pune Pistons - Revathi Devasthale
• Hyderabad - C Rahul Yadav
• Banga Beats - Daniel Farid.

First Published: Friday, August 02, 2013 08:59 PM

Related Tags:

Post Comment (+)