Karnataka Rebel MLAs To Stay Disqualified But May Contest Bypolls: SC

Updated On : 13 Nov,2019 | 12:43 PM

Supreme Court has upheld the decision by Karnataka Assembly Speaker to disqualify 17 rebel Congress-Janta Dal (Secular) MLAs but allowed them to contest the December 5 bypolls. These MLAs were disqualified by Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar after their revolt led to the collapse of the JDS-Congress coalition government. "Speaker is not empowered to disqualify MLAs till the end of the legislature term," said Supreme Court.

More Videos

Post Comment (+)

LiveScore Live Scores & Results

News Nation IOS News Nation Android